COMMUNICATION

Communication manager for the Museum of Hunting and Nature
Ugo Deslandes
Phone. 01 53 01 92 40
u.deslandes@chassenature.org

RELATIONS WITH THE PRESS
Alambret Communication
Angelique Guillemain
angelique@alambret.com
Leila Neirijnck
leila@alambret.com
Tel. 01 48 87 70 77
www.alambret.com

“RESONANCES, ABDUCTIONS, INTERFERENCES”

The courtyard of the Hunting and Nature Museum hosts a bronze deer, sitting on the pavement, both alert and silent. It is the work of the artist Miguel Branco, born in Portugal in 1963. For more than 30 years, thanks to the mediums of painting, drawing, sculpture and digital image, his work has been centered on the animal as the main subject. By borrowing most of his models from the history of art, from Georges Stubbs in particular, or by drawing on illustrations from old scientific works such as the Natural History of the Comte de Buffon, his works lend themselves to new work. pictorial and plastic order.

Claiming these borrowings, the artist uses them in a very personal way: he creates his own images of previous images. Miguel Branco's Still Stag offers a sort of counterpoint to the exhibition of German paintings presented at the same time in the rooms of the museum. Indeed, the simplicity, the apparent fragility and the form of interiority which characterize the work of the Portuguese artist, form a striking contrast with what the Germanic artists of the nineteenth century experienced in exalting the wild forces that have free rein. in nature. While, tirelessly declining, their deer, capped with formidable antlers, confront each other in deadly jousts to demonstrate their virile and warlike power, Branco's black deer is silent and solemn, and looks at us impassive, as if he questioned.

In addition to this installation, the rooms of the museum host a selection of paintings and sculptures by the artist in resonance with the works of the Museum. This cohabitation, subtitled "Resonances, Abductions, Interferences", highlights the subjective and changing character of our perception of animals, the power of the image as well as the strangeness of the animal, this "absolute other", of a primordial magical presence.

Useful information

62, rue des Archives 75003 Paris
The museum is open every day except Monday and public holidays,
11 a.m. to 18 p.m., 11 a.m. to 21:30 p.m. Wednesday.
Full price: 8 euros
Reduced price: 6 euros

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature
Ugo Deslandes
tél. 01 53 01 92 40
u.deslandes@chassenature.org

RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE
Alambret Communication
Angélique Guillemain
angelique@alambret.com
Leila Neirijnck
leila@alambret.com
Tél. 01 48 87 70 77
www.alambret.com

“RÉSONANCES, ABDUCTIONS, INTERFÉRENCES”

La cour du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature accueille un cerf en bronze, assis sur le pavé, à la fois alerte et silencieux. C’est l’œuvre de l’artiste Miguel Branco, né au Portugal en 1963. Durant plus de 30 ans, grâce aux mediums de la peinture, du dessin, de la sculpture et de l’image digitale, son œuvre s’est centrée sur l’animal comme sujet principal. En empruntant la plupart de ses modèles à l’histoire de l’art, à Georges Stubbs notamment, ou en puisant parmi les illustrations des anciens ouvrages scienti ques telle l’Histoire naturelle du comte de Buffon, ses œuvres se prêtent à un nouveau travail d’ordre pictural et plastique.

Revendiquant ces emprunts, l’artiste s’en sert d’une manière toute personnelle: il crée ses propres images d’images antérieures. Le cerf immobile de Miguel Branco offre une sorte de contrepoint à l’exposition des peintures allemandes présentée au même moment dans les salles du musée. En effet, la simplicité, l’apparente fragilité et la forme d’intériorité qui caractérisent le travail de l’artiste portugais, forment un frappant contraste avec ce qu’expérimentent les artistes germaniques du xixe siècle en exaltant les forces sauvages qui ont libre cours dans la nature. Tandis que, inlassablement déclinés, leurs cerfs, coiffés d’une redoutable ramure s’affrontent dans des joutes meurtrières pour manifester leur puissance virile et guerrière, le cerf noir de Branco est silencieux et solennel, et nous regarde impassible, comme s’il nous questionnait.

Les salles du musée accueillent, en complément de cette installation, une sélection de peintures et de sculptures de l’artiste en résonance avec les oeuvres du Musée. Cette cohabitation, sous-titrée « Résonances, Enlèvements, Interférences », met en évidence le caractère subjectif et changeant de notre perception des animaux, le pouvoir de l’image ainsi que l’étrangeté de l’animal, cet « autre absolu », d’une présence magique primordiale.

Informations pratiques

62, rue des Archives 75003 Paris
Le musée est ouvert tous les jours sauf le lundi et les jours fériés,
de 11h à 18h, de 11h à 21h30 le mercredi.
Plein tarif : 8 euros
Tarif réduit : 6 euros