Curator

Claude d'Anthenaise
Karen Chastagnol

Public opening

On Wednesday 05 September 2018,
from 18 p.m. to 21:30 p.m.,
entrée libre

Facebook event

couv_mellon_brochee_6juillnew copy

Edited book
occasionally
of the exhibition

Country Life. Masterpieces from the Mellon Collection at the Virginia Museum of Fine Art
From Editions Snoeck
Price: EUR 25
French edition, 128 pages, hardcover
Catalog edited by Claude d'Anthenaise and Karen Chastagnol

COMMUNICATION

Communication manager for the Museum of Hunting and Nature
Ugo Deslandes
Phone. 01 53 01 92 40
u.deslandes@chassenature.org

RELATIONS WITH THE PRESS
Alambret Communication
Angelique Guillemain
angelique@alambret.com
Leila Neirijnck
leila@alambret.com
Tel. 01 48 87 70 77
www.alambret.com

Faithful to the vocation of the François Sommer Foundation, the Museum of Hunting and Nature explores the different aspects of the relationship that man has with animals and natural space. In its own way, art reflects the evolution of our ecosystem by translating and orienting the perception of successive generations of observers and creators.

The exhibition Country Life - Masterpieces from the Mellon collection of the VMFA looks back on a moment in Western civilization, linked to the Industrial Revolution and the rise of the bourgeois classes, which tended to make the countryside a place dedicated to the resort. According to the country life model, derived from British culture, the land, the domestic animal - and in particular the horse - see their productive value associated with a recreational value. The countryside becomes a space of leisure for a whole social class generally coming from the cities and maintaining the nostalgia of an idealized rurality.

In England, from the end of the XNUMXth century, equestrian sports experienced a remarkable development (races, hunts). Paradoxically, this coincides with the moment when the nascent industry tends to impose the victory of horsepower over their animal competitors. An artistic genre particularly well represented in the English school, sporting painting reflects this craze of the dominant social group. This one will spread its cultural model towards the other Western nations according to the current of Anglophilia which characterizes the nineteenth century. On this side of the Channel, French painters, impressionists in particular, bear witness to another aspect of life in the countryside. They reveal how, near the cities, the rural space is taken over by the petty bourgeoisie who devote themselves to outdoor leisure activities advocated by hygienist theories.

Continuing the family tradition, billionaire and art lover Paul Mellon (1907-1999) collected with passion. Symptomatically, the works he has collected reflect his attachment to a way of life on the verge of extinction. True, Mellon is linked to the English tradition through his mother, but his paternal heritage assimilates him to the world of American industry and finance. Endowed with immense means and dedicated to a social life in the business world, he chooses a certain rurality. With Bunny, his wife, they will apply themselves to transposing the lifestyle of gentlemen farmers to the heart of the Virginia countryside. In their Oak Spring estate, Bunny unleashes his taste for gardening, while Paul breeds racehorses. Saturating the walls of the cottage, their collection of paintings illustrates this dreamed relationship with nature, the antipodes of industrial agriculture which, at the same time, radically transforms the rural landscape.

Exceptionally, the masterpieces they have collected and which have been bequeathed to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (VMFA), are found in the Museum of Hunting and Nature. They can be appreciated from an art history perspective. But they also testify to the awakening in Western culture of a new sensitivity to nature following industrial development and urbanization.

Useful information

62, rue des Archives 75003 Paris
The museum is open every day except Monday and public holidays,
11 a.m. to 18 p.m., 11 a.m. to 21:30 p.m. Wednesday.
Full price: 8 euros
Reduced price: 6 euros

This exhibition has benefited from the support of the Heritage Foundation thanks to the sponsorship of CGPA



Partner

Press partners

Around the exhibition

Appointment

walk-scenographic

Scenic walk

read-and-talk-with-ft

Crossing

visits

visite_adulte

Visits Conferences

enfantsFamilles

Children and families

Commissariat

Claude d'Anthenaise
Karen Chastagnol

Vernissage public

Le mercredi 05 septembre 2018,
de 18h à 21h30,
entrée libre

Évemement Facebook

couv_mellon_brochee_6juillnew-copie

Ouvrage édité
à l'occasion
de l'exposition

Country Life. Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Mellon du Virginia Museum of Fine Art
Aux Éditions Snoeck
Prix : 25 euros
Édition française, 128 pages, relié
Catalogue sous la direction de Claude d’Anthenaise et Karen Chastagnol

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature
Ugo Deslandes
tél. 01 53 01 92 40
u.deslandes@chassenature.org

RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE
Alambret Communication
Angélique Guillemain
angelique@alambret.com
Leila Neirijnck
leila@alambret.com
Tél. 01 48 87 70 77
www.alambret.com

Fidèle à la vocation de la Fondation François Sommer, le musée de la Chasse et de la Nature explore les différents aspects de la relation que l’homme entretient avec l’animal et l’espace naturel. À sa manière l’art rend compte de l’évolution de notre écosystème en traduisant et en orientant la perception des générations successives d’observateurs et de créateurs.

L’exposition Country Life – Chefs-d’oeuvre de la collection Mellon du VMFA revient sur un moment de la civilisation occidentale, lié à la Révolution industrielle et l’essor des classes bourgeoises, qui tend à faire de la campagne un lieu voué à la villégiature. Selon le modèle de la country life, issu de la culture britannique, la terre, l’animal domestique – et en particulier le cheval – voient leur valeur productive associée à une valeur récréative. La campagne devient un espace de loisir pour toute une classe sociale généralement issue des villes et entretenant la nostalgie d’une ruralité idéalisée.

En Angleterre, dès la fin du xviiie siècle, les sports équestres connaissent un remarquable développement (courses, chasses à courre). Paradoxalement, cela coïncide avec le moment où l’industrie naissante tend à imposer la victoire des chevaux-vapeur sur leurs compétiteurs animaux. Un genre artis- tique, particulièrement bien représenté dans l’école anglaise, la sporting painting reflète cet engouement du groupe social dominant. Celui-ci va essaimer son modèle culturel vers les autres nations occidentales au gré du courant d’anglophilie qui caractérise le xixe siècle. De ce côté-ci de la Manche, les peintres français, impressionnistes notamment, témoignent d’un autre aspect de la vie à la campagne. Ils révèlent comment, à proximité des villes, l’espace rural est investi par la petite bourgeoisie qui s’y adonne aux loisirs de plein air prônés par les théories hygiénistes.

Poursuivant la tradition familiale, le milliardaire et amateur d’art Paul Mellon (1907-1999) a collectionné avec passion. De manière symptomatique, les œuvres qu’il a rassemblées traduisent son attachement à un mode de vie en voie d’extinction. Certes, Mellon est lié à la tradition anglaise par sa mère, mais son héritage paternel l’assimile au monde de l’industrie et de la finance américain. Doté d’immenses moyens et voué à une vie sociale dans le milieu des affaires, il fait le choix d’une certaine ruralité. Avec Bunny, son épouse, ils vont s’appliquer à transposer au cœur de la campagne de Virginie le mode de vie des gentlemen farmers. Dans leur domaine d’Oak Spring, Bunny donne libre cours à son goût pour le jardinage, tandis que Paul élève des chevaux de course. Saturant les murs du cottage, leur collection de peintures illustre cette relation rêvée à la nature, aux antipodes de l’agriculture industrielle qui, au même moment, transforme radicalement le paysage rural.

Exceptionnellement, les chefs-d’œuvre qu’ils ont ainsi rassemblés et qui ont été légués au Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (VMFA), se retrouvent au musée de la Chasse et de la Nature. Ils peuvent être appréciés dans une perspective d’histoire de l’art. Mais ils témoignent également de l’éveil dans la culture occidentale d’une nouvelle sensibilité à la nature consécutivement au développement industriel et à l’urbanisation.

Informations pratiques

62, rue des Archives 75003 Paris
Le musée est ouvert tous les jours sauf le lundi et les jours fériés,
de 11h à 18h, de 11h à 21h30 le mercredi.
Plein tarif : 8 euros
Tarif réduit : 6 euros

Cette exposition a bénéficié du soutien de la Fondation du Patrimoine grâce au mécénat de CGPA



Partenaire

Partenaires presse

Autour de l'exposition

Rendez-vous

lecture-et-discussion-avec-ft

Traversée

Visites

visite_adulte

Visites Conférences

enfantsFamilles

Enfants et familles