Curator

Claude d'Anthenaise

Public opening

On Wednesday 16 January 2019,
from 18 p.m. to 21:30 p.m.,
entrée libre

Cover-Catalog Mircea Cantor v1

Edited book
occasionally
of the exhibition

COMMUNICATION

Communication manager for the Museum of Hunting and Nature
Ugo Deslandes
Phone. 01 53 01 92 40
u.deslandes@chassenature.org

RELATIONS WITH THE PRESS
Alambret Communication
Angelique Guillemain
angelique@alambret.com
Leila Neirijnck
leila@alambret.com
Tel. 01 48 87 70 77
www.alambret.com

As part of the France-Romania 2019 Season which celebrates the centenary of the creation of modern Romania and coincides with the Romanian Presidency of the Council of the European Union, the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature offers carte blanche to artist Mircea Cantor.

Mircea Cantor (born in 1977), internationally renowned artist and major figure in Romanian contemporary art, won the Ricard Corporate Foundation Prize in 2004, then the prestigious Marcel Duchamp Prize in 2011. Her childhood, spent in a country under a communist regime, and his personal memories constitute the starting point of most of his works. His productions focus on highlighting the social differences and the remaining borders between countries. The formal and aesthetic research of his videos and his installations combines with a poetic commitment resulting in simple gestures, but of universal value.
For her “carte blanche” at the Hunting and Nature Museum, Mircea Cantor is interested in the notion of “territory”. This theme is at the heart of the meeting of the predator and its prey which inspires his recent film (Aquila no hood muscas 2018) where we see an eagle chasing a drone. In another movie (Deeparture 2005) we witness the rising tension between a wolf and a doe rubbing shoulders in the artificial space of a “white cube”. 

Mircea Cantor is also sensitive to the very special relationship that the vernacular tradition of her native country has developed with wild animals. The abundant and diverse fauna (bears, wolves, migratory birds, etc.) which inhabit the vast expanses of Romania, from the forests of the Carpathians to the marshy lands of the Danube delta, inspires certain traditional festivals and the production of objects which are theirs. are destined. Over the centuries, Christian culture has integrated the ancient pagan rites which resurface in particular on the occasion of colinde or end of year celebrations.

These rites will serve as a common thread for Mircea Cantor for the exhibition he is organizing through the rooms of the museum, as if it became the territory of a strange parade. In "image hunter" or vânătorul de imagini, he collects objects and works and arranges them in a way that gives them a new meaning. Borrowing objects of popular art from the Museum of the Romanian Peasant in Bucharest, ordering from his artist friends from Romania works on the theme of hunting, he mixes these "ready-mades" of a particular genre with his own works in a scenography that plays with the permanent collections of the museum.

Useful information

62, rue des Archives 75003 Paris
The museum is open every day except Monday and public holidays,
11 a.m. to 18 p.m., 11 a.m. to 21:30 p.m. Wednesday.
Full price: 8 euros
Reduced price: 6 euros

PARTNERS

 

MANIFESTATION ORGANIZED IN THE FRAMEWORK OF THE FRANCE-ROMANIA 2019 SEASON

 

COMMITTEE OF THE MÉCÈNES OF THE SEASON FRANCE-ROMANIA 2019

 

PRESS PARTNERS

Around the exhibition

Appointment

before first-hunter

PRE-FIRST "HUNTERS"

festival-bear-2019

BEAR FESTIVAL

continuum

CONTINUUM

visits

enfantsFamilles

Children and families

visite_adulte

Visits Conferences

Commissariat

Claude d'Anthenaise

Vernissage public

Le mercredi 16 janvier 2019,
de 18h à 21h30,
entrée libre

Couverture-Catalogue-Mircea-Cantor-v1

Ouvrage édité
à l'occasion
de l'exposition

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature
Ugo Deslandes
tél. 01 53 01 92 40
u.deslandes@chassenature.org

RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE
Alambret Communication
Angélique Guillemain
angelique@alambret.com
Leila Neirijnck
leila@alambret.com
Tél. 01 48 87 70 77
www.alambret.com

Dans le cadre de la Saison France-Roumanie 2019 qui vient célébrer le centenaire de la création de la Roumanie moderne et coïncide avec la Présidence roumaine du Conseil de l’Union européenne, le musée de la Chasse et de la Nature offre une carte blanche à l’artiste Mircea Cantor.

Mircea Cantor (né en 1977), artiste de renommée internationale et figure majeure de l’art contemporain roumain, a remporté le Prix de la Fondation d’entreprise Ricard en 2004, puis le prestigieux Prix Marcel Duchamp en 2011. Son enfance, passée dans un pays de régime communiste, et ses souvenirs personnels constituent le point de départ de la plupart de ses oeuvres. Ses productions s’attachent à souligner les différences sociales et les frontières subsistant entre les pays. La recherche formelle et esthétique de ses vidéos et de ses installations se combine avec un engagement poétique se traduisant par des gestes simples, mais d’une valeur universelle.
Pour sa « carte blanche » au musée de la Chasse et de la Nature, Mircea Cantor s’intéresse à la notion de « territoire ». Ce thème est au coeur de la rencontre du prédateur et de sa proie qui inspire son récent film (Aquila non capot muscas 2018) où l’on voit un aigle en train de chasser un drone. Dans un autre film (Deeparture 2005) on assiste à la tension montante entre un loup et une biche se côtoyant dans l’espace artificiel d’un « white cube ». 

Mircea Cantor est également sensible à la relation très particulière que la tradition vernaculaire de son pays natal a développé avec les animaux sauvages. La faune abondante et diversifiée (ours, loups, oiseaux migrateurs…) qui habite les vastes étendues de la Roumanie, depuis les forêts des Carpates jusqu’aux terres marécageuses du delta du Danube, inspire certaines fêtes traditionnelles et la production d’objets qui leur sont destinés. Au cours des siècles la culture chrétienne a intégré les anciens rites païens qui ressurgissent notamment à l’occasion des colinde ou fêtes de fin d’année.

Ces rites vont servir de fil conducteur à Mircea Cantor pour l’exposition qu’il organise à travers les salles du musée, comme si celui-ci devenait le territoire d’une étrange parade. En « chasseur d’images » ou vânătorul de imagini, il collecte des objets et des oeuvres et les dispose d’une manière qui leur donne un sens nouveau. Empruntant des objets d’art populaire au Musée du Paysan roumain de Bucarest, commandant à ses amis artistes de Roumanie des oeuvres sur le thème de la chasse, il mélange ces « ready-made » d’un genre particulier à ses propres oeuvres dans une scénographie qui vient jouer avec les collections permanentes du musée.

Informations pratiques

62, rue des Archives 75003 Paris
Le musée est ouvert tous les jours sauf le lundi et les jours fériés,
de 11h à 18h, de 11h à 21h30 le mercredi.
Plein tarif : 8 euros
Tarif réduit : 6 euros

PARTENAIRES

 

MANIFESTATION ORGANISÉE DANS LE CADRE DE LA SAISON FRANCE-ROUMANIE 2019

 

COMITÉ DES MÉCÈNES DE LA SAISON FRANCE-ROUMANIE 2019

 

PARTENAIRES PRESSE

Autour de l'exposition

Rendez-vous

fete-ours-2019

LA FÊTE DE L’OURS

continuum

CONTINUUM

Visites

enfantsFamilles

Enfants et familles

visite_adulte

Visites Conférences