Curator

Claude d'Anthenaise

Downloads

PRESS RELEASE

COMMUNICATION

Communication manager for the Museum of Hunting and Nature
Ugo Deslandes
Phone. 01 53 01 92 40
u.deslandes@chassenature.org

RELATIONS WITH THE PRESS
Alambret Communication
Angelique Guillemain
angelique@alambret.com
Leila Neirijnck
leila@alambret.com
Tel. 01 48 87 70 77
www.alambret.com

What would hunting be without hunting stories? The oral tradition has supported this self-promotional story since the dawn of time, before being relayed by abundant writings to the point of making it a form of literary genre. The question of the authenticity of the reported facts does not wait for the publication of Tartarin de Tarascon's hunting exploits to arise. The sum of the glorious and unverifiable hunting tales published is already impressive when the famous "lion slayer" decides in turn to play the higher bid!

Safaris transposes to contemporary art the ambivalence of hunting stories and the works of Mark Beard, Joan Fontcuberta or even Christian Gonzenbach, brought together for the exhibition, invest the territory of fictional hunts ... Mixing paintings with documents, the photographs with testimonies, the pieces gathered attest to the immemorial dissatisfaction of the hunter in being satisfied with reality. To embellish or savage the most banal of hunting grounds, attributing to game extreme rarity or threatening appetite, conferring on the hunt impalpable heroic or mystical impulses, is not this also the function of hunting stories and images?

Thus, by summoning styles and techniques inherited from the past for their works, some of the artists gathered for Safaris underline the tension between reality and fiction which characterizes the art of hunting: between reportage and propaganda, chronicle and decorum ... a obsession with giving an account that cannot be disenchanted.

Featured artists

Richard Barnes, Mark Beard, Ghyslain Bertholon, David Chancelor, Sinje Dillenkofer, Juan Fontcuberta, Christian Gonzenbach, Daniel Horowitz, Agnès Rosse, Nicolas Rubinstein, Dimitri Tsykalov

Useful information

62, rue des Archives 75003 Paris
The museum is open every day except Monday and public holidays,
11 a.m. to 18 p.m., 11 a.m. to 21:30 p.m. Wednesday.
Full price: 8 euros
Reduced price: 6 euros

Exhibition presented with the support of the Cantonal Contemporary Art Fund of the Canton of Geneva, the City of Geneva and the Pro Helvetia Foundation, in partnership with Art Paris Art Fair.

Commissariat

Claude d'Anthenaise

Téléchargements

DOSSIER DE PRESSE

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature
Ugo Deslandes
tél. 01 53 01 92 40
u.deslandes@chassenature.org

RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE
Alambret Communication
Angélique Guillemain
angelique@alambret.com
Leila Neirijnck
leila@alambret.com
Tél. 01 48 87 70 77
www.alambret.com

Que serait la chasse sans les histoires de chasse ? La tradition orale prend en charge ce récit auto-promotionnel depuis la nuit des temps, avant d’être relayée par des écrits abondants au point d’en faire une forme de genre littéraire. La question de l’authenticité des faits relatés n’attend pas la publication des exploits cynégétiques de Tartarin de Tarascon pour se poser. La somme des glorieux et invérifiables récits de chasse publiés est déjà impressionnante quand le célèbre « tueur de lions » se décide à son tour à jouer la surenchère !

Safaris transpose à l’art contemporain l’ambivalence des histoires de chasse et les œuvres de Mark Beard, de Joan Fontcuberta ou encore de Christian Gonzenbach, rassemblées pour l’exposition, investissent le territoire des chasses fictionnelles… Mêlant les peintures aux documents, les photographies aux témoignages, les pièces réunies attestent de l’insatisfaction immémoriale du chasseur à se contenter de la réalité. Enjoliver ou ensauvager le plus banal des terrains de chasse, attribuer au gibier extrême rareté ou menaçant appétit, conférer à la traque d’impalpables élans héroïques ou mystiques, n’est-ce pas aussi la fonction des récits et des images cynégétiques ?

C’est ainsi qu’en convoquant pour leurs œuvres des styles et des techniques héritées du passé, certains des artistes réunis pour Safaris soulignent la tension entre réalité et fiction qui caractérise l’art cynégétique : entre reportage et propagande, chronique et décorum… une obsession à rendre compte qui ne saurait désenchanter.

Artistes présentés

Richard Barnes, Mark Beard, Ghyslain Bertholon, David Chancelor, Sinje Dillenkofer, Juan Fontcuberta, Christian Gonzenbach, Daniel Horowitz, Agnès Rosse, Nicolas Rubinstein, Dimitri Tsykalov

Informations pratiques

62, rue des Archives 75003 Paris
Le musée est ouvert tous les jours sauf le lundi et les jours fériés,
de 11h à 18h, de 11h à 21h30 le mercredi.
Plein tarif : 8 euros
Tarif réduit : 6 euros

Exposition présentée avec le soutien du Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain du canton de Genève, de la Ville de Genève et de la Fondation Pro Helvetia, en partenariat avec Art Paris Art Fair.