Exhibitions

© Lionel Sabatté. Cliché : Alain Alquier

from March 7 to June 4 2017

"Lionel Sabatted"
Lionel Sabatted

The Darwinian theory of competition between individuals as the driving force of evolution has been seen as a justification for capitalism and colonialism. In apparent contradiction, the theory of kin selection

developed by the Englishman William Donald Hamilton in 1964, explains the appearance, during evolution, of altruistic behavior between organisms. These instincts would increase with kinship, under the effect of natural selection.

(Automatically translated with Google Translate)

In designing his installation for the courtyard of the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature, Lionel Sabatté wished to refer explicitly to this theory, from which he borrows the title of his installation. It is composed of three sculptures: a tree, a human figure and a headless animal form the poles of a triangular figure. By establishing a harmonious spatial relationship between these three representatives of nature, Lionel Sabatté wanted to signify their interdependence. The human and animal figures are made of stained concrete. Left partially visible, the metal rods that structure them express movement while giving an impression of vulnerability that arouses our empathy. Conversely, the tree is directly borrowed from nature as a kind of botanical "ready-made". However, its branches are adorned with a strange flowering artificially made of human skins.


Lionel Sabatté, born in Toulouse in 1975 and a graduate of the Beaux-Arts in Paris, has made a name for himself by using all sorts of discarded materials: dust collected on the platforms of the metro, organic debris such as dead skin or nail clippings. He shapes them with virtuosity to make fascinating and repulsive works that question the objectivity of our aesthetic judgment.

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature

Ugo Deslandes

tél. 01 53 01 92 40

u.deslandes@chassenature.org


RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE

Alambret Communication

Angélique Guillemain

angelique@alambret.com

Leila Neirijnck

leila@alambret.com

Tél. 01 48 87 70 77

www.alambret.com

past exhibits

© Lionel Sabatté. Cliché : Alain Alquier

Expositions

© Lionel Sabatté. Cliché : Alain Alquier

du 7 mars au 4 juin 2017

«Lionel Sabatté»
Lionel Sabatté

On a pu voir dans la théorie darwinienne, faisant de la compétition entre les individus le principe moteur de l’évolution, une justification du capitalisme et du colonialisme. En apparente contradiction, la théorie de la sélection

de parentèle développée par l’anglais William Donald Hamilton en 1964, permet d’expliquer l’apparition, au cours de l’évolution, d’un comportement altruiste entre organismes. Ces instincts augmenteraient avec l’apparentement, sous l’effet de la sélection naturelle.

En concevant son installation pour la cour du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature, Lionel Sabatté a souhaité se référer explicitement à cette théorie, à laquelle il emprunte le titre de son installation. Elle se compose de trois sculptures : un arbre, une silhouette humaine et un animal acéphale forment les pôles d’une figure triangulaire. En établissant une relation spatiale harmonieuse entre ces trois représentants de la nature, Lionel Sabatté a souhaité signifier leur interdépendance. Les figures humaine et animale sont réalisées en béton teinté. Laissées partiellement apparentes, les tiges de métal qui les structurent expriment le mouvement tout en donnant une impression de vulnérabilité qui suscite notre empathie. À l’inverse, l’arbre est directement emprunté à la nature comme une sorte de « ready-made » botanique. Toutefois, ses branches s’ornent d’une étrange floraison artificiellement constituée de peaux humaines.


Lionel Sabatté, né à Toulouse en 1975 et diplômé des Beaux-Arts de Paris s’est fait connaître en utilisant toutes sortes de matériaux rebutants : poussières collectées sur les quais du métro, débris organiques tels que peaux mortes ou rognures d’ongle. Il les façonne avec virtuosité pour en faire des œuvres fascinantes et repoussantes qui questionnent l’objectivité de notre jugement esthétique.

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature

Ugo Deslandes

tél. 01 53 01 92 40

u.deslandes@chassenature.org


RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE

Alambret Communication

Angélique Guillemain

angelique@alambret.com

Leila Neirijnck

leila@alambret.com

Tél. 01 48 87 70 77

www.alambret.com

expositions passées

© Lionel Sabatté. Cliché : Alain Alquier