Exhibitions

Chevreuil dans les marécages du Whitefish Lake, © National Geographic Creative Archives

from September 15 2015 to February 14 2016

"The interior of the night"
George Shiras

Curator of the exhibition: Sonia Voss


A hunter in his early years, then a lawyer, politician, naturalist and photographer, George Shiras abandoned the gun for the camera in the 1880s and became involved in the preservation of the animal world.

(Automatically translated with Google Translate)

A pioneer of wild life photography, Shiras was also the first to use flash photography to reveal the nocturnal life of wild animals, and then to set up photographic traps, obtaining unprecedented images of the many animals that inhabit the forests of North America. Using techniques specific to hunting, his singular practice is part of an era marked by the development of an environmentalist conscience.


Hailed in his time for the scientific and aesthetic value of his photographs, as well as for his numerous illustrated reports, George Shiras nevertheless remained largely unknown to the public after his death in 1942. The exhibition is an opportunity to discover this author through fifty prints from the collections of the National Geographic Society and the DeVos Art Museum in Marquette.


George Shiras (1859-1942) was an American photographer.

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature

Ugo Deslandes

tél. 01 53 01 92 40

u.deslandes@chassenature.org


RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE

Alambret Communication

Angélique Guillemain

angelique@alambret.com

Leila Neirijnck

leila@alambret.com

Tél. 01 48 87 70 77

www.alambret.com

past exhibits

Chevreuil dans les marécages du Whitefish Lake, © National Geographic Creative Archives

Expositions

Chevreuil dans les marécages du Whitefish Lake, © National Geographic Creative Archives

du 15 septembre 2015 au 14 février 2016

«L’Intérieur de la nuit»
George Shiras

Commissariat de l'exposition : Sonia Voss


Chasseur dans ses jeunes années, puis avocat, homme politique, naturaliste et photographe, George Shiras abandonne dès les années 1880 le fusil pour l’appareil photo et s’engage en faveur de la préservation du monde animal.

Pionnier de la wild life photography, Shiras est aussi le premier à révéler par ses photographies au flash la vie nocturne des animaux sauvages, puis à installer des pièges photographiques, obtenant des images inédites des nombreux animaux peuplant les forêts d’Amérique du Nord. Détournant des techniques propres à la chasse, sa pratique singulière s’inscrit dans une époque marquée par le développement d’une conscience environnementaliste.


Salué en son temps pour la valeur scientifique et esthétique de ses photographies, ainsi que pour ses nombreux reportages illustrés, George Shiras est pourtant resté largement méconnu du public après sa disparition en 1942. L’exposition est l’occasion de découvrir cet auteur grâce à une cinquantaine de tirages issus des collections de la National Geographic Society et du DeVos Art Museum de Marquette.


George Shiras (1859-1942) est un photographe américain.

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature

Ugo Deslandes

tél. 01 53 01 92 40

u.deslandes@chassenature.org


RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE

Alambret Communication

Angélique Guillemain

angelique@alambret.com

Leila Neirijnck

leila@alambret.com

Tél. 01 48 87 70 77

www.alambret.com

expositions passées

Chevreuil dans les marécages du Whitefish Lake, © National Geographic Creative Archives