Billebaude n ° 7

CLIMATE

ABOUT 3 NOVEMBER 2015

Welcome to the Anthropocene.
In this new geological era, man has become the main agent for modifying the balance of the “Earth system”. Everywhere we observe nature, including in rocks, we find the human imprint.
How to think about this new interweaving between man and nature? Concretely, in which landscapes, with which animals will we live in the era of global warming?

SHARE

Billebaude Collection

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Public price TTC France:
19.90€

Contact
François Sommer Foundation

Anne de Malleray
Director of collection
Tel: 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Facebook page Billebaude

DOWNLOAD THE SUMMARY OF THE ISSUE

Baillebaude-n7-545x700

EDITORIAL

Wherever researchers observe nature, they find man, whose traces are present in the soil, the oceans and the air. The anthropocene refers to this new geological era where we have become the main force capable of transforming the equilibria on the surface of the planet.

If the date of the beginning of the Anthropocene is debated within the scientific community, we have observed, since the 50s, a dizzying increase in the impact of human activities on the Earth system, what researchers have called the great acceleration. . It's hard to say what our habitat will look like in a few decades, but it will be deeply upset. After several millennia of stability, the climate is disrupted and the depletion of certain natural resources threatens us.
Paradoxically, the gap is widening between the scientific facts which are reported to us and our capacity to act collectively. Our modes of production, our political institutions, our representations of the world, are overwhelmed by this crisis. All of our benchmarks are becoming obsolete. While modern thought had clearly distinguished man from nature, we find it difficult to imagine this unprecedented situation, where the two are intertwined.
This issue of Billebaude combines views from philosophy, biology, environmental management and art to reflect on the practical and philosophical questions posed by the entry into the Anthropocene. In what habitat and with what biodiversity will we live in the era of global warming? How did we come to such a destructive way of exploiting nature? What knowledge should be mobilized to get out of the crisis? In the field, we travel through French forests with managers and scientists who highlight the uncertainties surrounding the future of forests. Ethnologists tell how, in Lapland, reindeer herders developed a science of snow which allows them to adapt to increasingly sudden variations in the climate. In San Francisco, the arrival of young sea lions on the streets arouses excitement and illustrates the paradoxes surrounding the value we place on wild animals. In Namibia, the coexistence between man and nature is being rebuilt through community management based on an ancestral relationship with wild animals and with the support of modern tools.
How to study nature in the era of global warming? How to think about this unprecedented situation where man is the main geological agent? We discuss it in this issue with biologist Vincent Devictor and sociologist Bruno Latour. We also question the artistic representations of nature. Among contemporary painters of the industrial revolution in England and today with the emergence of an anthropocene art, where nature is no longer only an aesthetic support, but also a place of political debate.
Both in the field, in research laboratories and artists' studios, the climate crisis is causing unforeseen effects, uncertainties, and reveals the need to recompose new knowledge and new representations in order to understand this nature, of which we we are distant and that catches up with us. It is an oppressive but exciting challenge. Welcome to the Anthropocene!

Anne de Malleray

SHEET SOME SELECTED PAGES

Videos of the conferences

Previous issues

Billebaude n°7

CLIMAT

PARU LE 3 NOVEMBRE 2015

Bienvenue dans l’anthropocène.
Dans cette ère géologique nouvelle, l’homme est devenu le principal agent de modification de l’équilibre du « système Terre ». Partout où l’on observe la nature, y compris dans les roches, on trouve l’empreinte humaine.
Comment penser cette nouvelle imbrication entre l’homme et la nature ? Concrètement, dans quels paysages, avec quels animaux vivrons-nous à l’ère du réchauffement climatique ?

PARTAGER

Collection Billebaude

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Prix public TTC France :
19.90 €

Contact
Fondation François Sommer

Anne de Malleray
Directrice de collection
Tél : 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Page Facebook Billebaude

TÉLÉCHARGER LE SOMMAIRE DU NUMÉRO

billebaude-n7-545x700

EDITO

Partout où les chercheurs observent la nature, ils trouvent l’homme, dont les traces sont présentes dans les sols, les océans, l’air. On désigne par anthropocène, cette nouvelle ère géologique où nous sommes devenus la principale force capable de transformer les équilibres à la surface de la planète.

Si la date de commencement de l’anthropocène fait débat au sein de la communauté scientifique, on observe, depuis les années 50, une augmentation vertigineuse de l’impact des activités humaines sur le système terrestre, ce que les chercheurs ont nommé la grande accélération. Difficile de dire à quoi notre habitat ressemblera dans quelques décennies, mais il sera profondément bouleversé. Après plusieurs millénaires de stabilité, le climat se dérègle et l’épuisement de certaines ressources naturelles nous menace.
Paradoxalement, le décalage se creuse entre les faits scientifiques qui nous sont rapportés et notre capacité à agir collectivement. Nos modes de production, nos institutions politiques, nos représentations du monde, sont dépassés par cette crise. Tous nos repères deviennent obsolètes. Alors que la pensée moderne avait nettement distingué l’homme de la nature, nous avons du mal à nous figurer cette situation inédite, où les deux sont imbriqués.
Ce numéro de Billebaude croise des regards venus de la philosophie, de la biologie, de la gestion de l’environnement et de l’art pour réfléchir aux questions pratiques et philosophiques posées par l’entrée dans l’anthropocène. Dans quel habitat et avec quelle biodiversité allons-nous vivre à l’ère du réchauffement climatique ? Comment en sommes-nous arrivés à un mode d’exploitation de la nature aussi destructeur ? Quels savoirs mobiliser pour sortir de la crise ? Sur le terrain, nous parcourons les forêts françaises avec des gestionnaires et des scientifiques qui soulignent les incertitudes autour de l’avenir des forêts. Des ethnologues racontent comment, en Laponie, les éleveurs de rennes ont développé une science de la neige qui leur permet de s’adapter aux variations de plus en plus subites du climat. À San Francisco, l’arrivée de jeunes otaries dans les rues suscite l’émoi et illustre les paradoxes autour de la valeur que nous accordons aux animaux sauvages. En Namibie, la coexistence entre l’homme et la nature se reconstruit à travers la gestion communautaire fondée sur une relation ancestrale aux animaux sauvages et avec l’appui d’outils modernes.
Comment étudier la nature à l’ère du réchauffement climatique ? Comment penser cette situation inédite où l’homme est le principal agent géologique ? Nous en débattons dans ce numéro avec le biologiste Vincent Devictor et le sociologue Bruno Latour. Nous interrogeons aussi les représentations artistiques de la nature. Chez les peintres contemporains de la révolution industrielle en Angleterre et aujourd’hui avec l’émergence d’un art de l’anthropocène, où la nature n’est plus seulement un support esthétique, mais aussi un lieu de débats politiques.
À la fois sur le terrain, dans les laboratoires de recherche et les ateliers d’artistes, la crise climatique entraîne des effets imprévus, des incertitudes, et révèle la nécessité de recomposer de nouveaux savoirs et de nouvelles représentations pour comprendre cette nature, dont nous nous sommes éloignés et qui nous rattrape. C’est un défi oppressant mais passionnant. Bienvenue dans l’anthropocène !

Anne de Malleray

FEUILLETER QUELQUES PAGES CHOISIES

Vidéos des conférences

Numéro précédents