BILLEBAUDE N ° 17

THE DEER

February 3 2021

Returning to the myths and symbols with which its antlers have been decked out, this issue will explore how the deer has been a central figure in the imagination of the wild in the West, and has done so since Antiquity. We will see how these representations, renewed in the contemporary ecological context, are interwoven with the history of the real presence of the deer in European and French forests in particular. 

SHARE

Billebaude Collection

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Public price TTC France:
19.90€

Contact
François Sommer Foundation

Anne de Malleray
Director of collection
Tel: 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Facebook page Billebaude

B17_CERF_V3- (1)

EDITORIAL

On the square of slab, at nightfall, the show begins. Binoculars in hand, hidden in a lookout, the group is silent, in the hope that the deep cry of the rutting deer resounds. How to understand what is going on each autumn while waiting for the slab? In our Western imagination of the wild, the deer seems to hold a central place. Widely represented in cave art, then associated with ancient deities - Cernunnos, the horned god, whose cult seems attested in the Iron Age, Artemis / Diana, goddess of the hunt - he will become the emblem of royal power and the incarnation of Christ, appearing in the guise of a white deer, cross erected between the woods. 

This imagination finds its source in part in the history of hunting practice. An essential game in the Paleolithic, the deer, unlike other species, was not domesticated in the Neolithic but moved and introduced by humans, for hunting, in certain ecosystems. The pursuit of this animal, reserved for the lords, then the king, is the subject of rituals analyzed by the anthropologist Charles Stépanoff in the treatises on venery published regularly between the 13th and the 18th century. He noted the unusual presence of a “corbin bone”, which ended up disappearing from treatises during the Renaissance. In the act of reserving this bone for the crow to thank it for its help during the hunt, he sees “The vestiges of an animate relationship with the forest in a Christian Middle Ages, moreover rather characterized by a form of hierarchical relationship with the rest of the living in which the human being is at the center of Creation”. Returning to the myths and rituals linked to hunting and the wild world, in which the deer plays a leading role, allows us to understand the evolution of relationships with animals and nature in the West, and in particular what they were before the Christian era and scientific modernity. Another illuminating symbolic system in this regard is that of “black blood”, analyzed by the anthropologist Bertrand Hell, who describes the ambiguous power of this vital flow circulating between hunters and certain wild animals through the consumption of game. Hell identifies a continuity of cults associated with black blood and returned to those he calls the "Masters of the Wild" - Cernunnos, Artémis / Diane and finally Saint Hubert, patron of 

rabies hunters and healers, in a Christianized version. In this way, this issue seeks to give a historical depth to our representations and our contemporary sensitivity to living things in a context where different visions of animals and nature are opposed head on. 

This route also goes through literature, with a dossier of extracts from texts selected by Anne Simon, specialist in ecopoetics, which stages, but also into play, the imagination of the wild and sexual power associated with this animal. We find it at Pascal Quignard (The Unsettled), where the deer "Spends his time living in the world's forest, throwing his sperm into the winter", unlike the semi-domesticated deer, "Half beast and half tree", by Giono (That remains my joy) which we see "Shine eyes soft, but male" (!). Claudie Hunzinger, in The Great Deer, linger, she, at the time, in the middle of winter and until spring, when "The clan is hiding". A moment of fragility when deer, deprived of antlers and vulnerable, "Walk carefully between the trunks of trees". An essential part of this animal escapes us if we only pay attention to the spectacular attributes of its power. This is striking when one looks at his behavior. "There are a lot of fantasies about the deer", explains David Pierrard, manager of the Belval estate in the Ardennes 1. "The first of them being the size of the antlers", linked to the tradition of the trophy. If since the Middle Ages, fights between deer have been erected as a model of chivalrous virility, in reality, he emphasizes, it is rather avoidance that is required, both the energy cost and the risk of injury. are high. Through the sensitive accounts and nourished by long observations proposed by Georges Gonzalez, specialist in the behavior and ecology of the deer, we try to restore the world woven of habits, relations of companionship and avoidance between males, hinds and juveniles, over the seasons. Finally, we can feel the tension between the power of the deer and its uneasy life form of a large ruminant herbivore while listening to Virgile Parpinelli, European champion of slab, who, in the fall, in the forest, calls the males to rut: “Sometimes a form of relationship sets in, the deer will look at us and it gives chills. They have these faces and these facial expressions! They look like they have baby heads, we just want to stroke them too much. " 

  1. Territory of 1 hectares in the Ardennes, historic property of the François Sommer Foundation, today a place for studying biodiversity, a hunting school and an artists' residence attached to the Hunting and Nature Museum. 

SHEET SOME SELECTED PAGES

Videos of the conferences

Previous issues

BILLEBAUDE N°17

LE CERF

3 février 2021

En revenant sur les mythes et les symboles dont ses bois ont été affublés, ce numéro explorera en quoi le cerf est une figure centrale de l'imaginaire du sauvage en Occident, et ce depuis l'Antiquité. Nous verrons comment ces représentations, renouvelées dans le contexte écologique contemporain, s'entremêlent à l'histoire de la présence réelle du cerf dans les forêts européennes et françaises en particulier. 

PARTAGER

Collection Billebaude

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Prix public TTC France :
19.90 €

Contact
Fondation François Sommer

Anne de Malleray
Directrice de collection
Tél : 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Page Facebook Billebaude

B17_CERF_V3-(1)

EDITO

Sur la place de brame, à la tombée du jour, le spectacle commence. Jumelles en mains, dissimulé dans un affût, le groupe fait silence, dans l’espoir que retentisse le cri profond du cerf en rut. Comment comprendre ce qui se joue chaque automne dans cette attente du brame ? Dans notre imaginaire occidental du sauvage, le cerf semble tenir une place centrale. Largement représenté dans l’art pariétal, puis associé aux divinités anciennes – Cernunnos, le dieu cornu, dont le culte semble attesté à l’âge du Fer, Artémis/Diane, déesse de la chasse – il deviendra l’emblème du pouvoir royal et l’incarnation du Christ, apparaissant sous les traits d’un cerf blanc, croix dressée entre les bois. 

Cet imaginaire trouve en partie sa source dans l'histoire de la pratique cynégétique. Gibier essentiel au Paléolithique, le cerf, contrairement à d’autres espèces, n’a pas été domestiqué au Néolithique mais déplacé et introduit par les humains, pour la chasse, dans certains écosystèmes. La poursuite de cet animal, réservée aux seigneurs, puis au roi, fait l’objet de rituels analysés par l’anthropologue Charles Stépanoff dans les traités de vénerie publiés régulièrement entre le 13e et le 18e siècle. Il y a relevé la présence insolite d’un « os corbin », qui finit par disparaître des traités à la Renaissance. Dans le geste consistant à réserver cet os au corbeau pour le remercier de son aide pendant la chasse, il voit « les vestiges d’un rapport animique à la forêt dans un Moyen Âge chrétien, par ailleurs plutôt caractérisé par une forme de relation hiérarchisée avec le reste du vivant dans laquelle l’humain est au centre de la Création ». Revenir sur les mythes et les rituels liés à la chasse et au monde sauvage, dans lesquels le cerf joue un rôle de premier plan, permet de comprendre l’évolution des rapports aux animaux et à la nature en Occident, et notamment ce qu’ils étaient avant l’ère chrétienne et la modernité scientifique. Un autre système symbolique éclairant à ce titre est celui du « sang noir », analysé par l’anthropologue Bertrand Hell qui décrit la puissance ambiguë de ce flux vital circulant entre les chasseurs et certains animaux sauvages par l’intermédiaire de la consommation du gibier. Hell identifie une continuité des cultes associés au sang noir et rendus à ceux qu’il appelle les « Maîtres du Sauvage » – Cernunnos, Artémis / Diane et enfin saint Hubert, patron des 

chasseurs et guérisseurs de la rage, dans une version christianisée. Par là, ce numéro cherche à donner une profondeur historique à nos représentations et notre sensibilité contemporaine au vivant dans un contexte où différentes visions de l’animal et de la nature s'opposent frontalement. 

Ce parcours passe aussi par la littérature, avec un dossier d’extraits de textes sélectionnés par Anne Simon, spécialiste d’écopoétique, qui met en scène, mais aussi en jeu, l’imaginaire de la puissance sauvage et sexuelle associée à cet animal. On la retrouve chez Pascal Quignard (Les Désarçonnés), où le cerf « passe son temps à vivre dans la forêt du monde, à lancer son sperme dans l’hiver », au contraire du cerf semi-domestiqué, « moitié bête et moitié arbre », de Giono (Que ma joie demeure) dont on voit « luire les yeux doux, mais mâles » (!). Claudie Hunzinger, dans Les Grands Cerfs, s’attarde, elle, sur le moment, au milieu de l’hiver et jusqu’au printemps, où « le clan se cache ». Un moment de fragilité où les cerfs, dépourvus de bois et vulnérables, « marchent avec précaution entre les troncs des arbres ». Une part essentielle de cet animal nous échappe si l’on ne prête attention qu’aux attributs spectaculaires de sa puissance. Cela est frappant lorsque l’on s’intéresse à son comportement. « Il y a beaucoup de fantasmes à propos du cerf », explique David Pierrard, gestionnaire du domaine de Belval dans les Ardennes 1. « Le premier d’entre eux étant la taille des bois », lié à la tradition du trophée. Si depuis le Moyen Âge, les combats entre cerfs sont érigés en modèle de virilité chevaleresque, en réalité, souligne-t-il, c’est plutôt l’évitement qui est de mise, tant le coût énergétique et le risque de bles- sure sont élevés. À travers les récits sensibles et nourris de longues observations proposés par Georges Gonzalez, spécialiste du comportement et de l’écologie du cerf, nous essayons de restituer le monde tissé d’habitudes, de relations de compagnonnage et d’évitements entre mâles, biches et juvéniles, au fil des saisons. On sent bien, enfin, la tension entre la puissance du cerf et sa forme de vie inquiète de grand herbivore ruminant en écoutant Virgile Parpinelli, champion d’Europe de brame, qui, dès l’automne venu, en forêt, appelle les mâles en rut : « Une forme de relation s’installe parfois, le cerf va nous regarder et ça donne des frissons. Ils ont de ces bouilles et de ces mimiques ! On dirait qu’ils ont des têtes de bébé, on a trop envie de les caresser. » 

  1. Territoire de 1 050 hectares dans les Ardennes, propriété historique de la Fondation François Sommer, aujourd’hui lieu d’étude de la biodiversité, école de chasse et résidence d’artistes rattachée au musée de la Chasse et de la Nature. 

FEUILLETER QUELQUES PAGES CHOISIES

Vidéos des conférences

Numéros précédents