Billebaude n ° 16

The art of decoy

Release August 26, 2020

Disappear, disguise, play tricks, attract or frighten, lure or be lured ... This issue explores the practices of luring between the living, as well over the long period of evolution, such as mimicry or camouflage, than at the level of individual and collective interactions.

The iconography of this issue seeks to forge links and points of contact between nature, art and artifice by questioning the modern separation between nature and culture.

The question of the lure could at first glance consolidate us in a vision of nature as a war of all against all - with deceivers and deceived, each defending selfish interests. This is the interpretation that is proposed in part of the scientific literature in ethology as in evolutionary biology.

But are there not, however, dimensions that escape us? We will try to understand what is at play in these relationships by crossing the eyes of biologists, ethologists, anthropologists, philosophers and artists. By following in the footsteps of the deer which misleads dogs, those of insects attracted to flowers or even biologists who share their wonder at the tricks of the animals they study - transformist octopuses, mimetic butterflies or snails "disguised" as lichen. we wonder what the art of decoy can teach us about other living beings. We seek to see the “art of decoy” as a shared practice of imitation, cunning, cross-dressing and camouflage.

SHARE

Billebaude Collection

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Public price TTC France:
19.90€

Contact
François Sommer Foundation

Anne de Malleray
Director of collection
Tel: 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Facebook page Billebaude

Couv-Billebaude-T16

SHEET SOME SELECTED PAGES

Videos of the conferences

Previous issues

Billebaude n°16

L'art du leurre

Sortie le 26 août 2020

Disparaître, se travestir, jouer des tours, attirer ou effaroucher, leurrer ou être leurré... Ce numéro, explore les pratiques du leurre entre les vivants, aussi bien sur le temps long de l’évolution, comme le mimétisme ou le camouflage, qu’à l’échelle des interactions individuelles et collectives.

L’iconographie de ce numéro cherche à tisser des liens et des points de contact entre la nature, l’art et l’artifice en remettant en question la séparation moderne entre nature et culture.

La question du leurre pourrait de prime abord nous conforter dans une vision de la nature comme une guerre de tous contre tous – avec des trompeurs et des trompés, chacun défendant des intérêts égoïstes. C’est l’interprétation qui en est proposée dans une partie de la littérature scientifique en éthologie comme en biologie de l’évolution.

Mais n’y-a-t-il pas cependant des dimensions qui nous échappent ? Nous essaierons de saisir ce qui se joue dans ces relations en croisant les regards de biologistes, éthologues, anthropologues, philosophes et artistes. En suivant les traces du cerf qui égare les chiens, celles des insectes attirés par des fleurs ou encore des biologistes qui partagent leur émerveillement devant les ruses des animaux qu’ils étudient – pieuvres transformistes, papillons mimétiques ou escargots « déguisés » en lichen... nous nous demandons ce que l’art du leurre peut nous apprendre des autres vivants. Nous cherchons à envisager « l’art du leurre » comme une pratique partagée de l’imitation, de la ruse, du travestissement et du camouflage.

PARTAGER

Collection Billebaude

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Prix public TTC France :
19.90 €

Contact
Fondation François Sommer

Anne de Malleray
Directrice de collection
Tél : 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Page Facebook Billebaude

Couv-Billebaude-T16

FEUILLETER QUELQUES PAGES CHOISIES

Vidéos des conférences

Numéros précédents