Billebaude n ° 15

WILDCAT

Release the November 13

Fauve is he a beast or is he a beast a man? A prey or a predator?

How to capture its shimmering nuances? What does the beast say about our wild and animal fantasies? This new issue of Billebaude explores the polysemy of this term, with its gray areas, at the edge of the human and the animal, in which to rethink what fascinates us but also what brings us closer to otherness, however familiar. other living people.

SHARE

Billebaude Collection

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Public price TTC France:
19.90€

Contact
François Sommer Foundation

Anne de Malleray
Director of collection
Tel: 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Facebook page Billebaude

coverFauve

EDITORIAL

Does Fauve refer to animals - the felines with which it is commonly associated, such as those in the Fauverie du Jardin des Plantes - or does it refer to humans and the fantasies that we project onto animals? Fauve is he a man or is he a beast? A prey or a predator? How to capture the shimmering nuances of the fawn? The confusion in which this word plunges us led Pierre-Louis Duchartre to confess impotence by formulating in his Dictionary of hunting this non-definition: "Fauve as an adjective and then as a noun is a good example of words which , by dint of having been inflated with different meanings, have burst. " 

This issue explores the polysemy of this term which remains "half-open", according to the expression of the anthropologist Nastassja Martin, with its gray areas, at the edge of the human and the animal, where to rethink what fascinates us but also what brings us closer to otherness, however familiar to other living beings.

Untranslatable in other languages, the fawn first designates a color chart - a pale beige before becoming a yellow tending to red or brown, in a long series of semantic shifts to which the historian Michel returns.

Pastoureau. In hunting literature, "wild beasts" primarily referred to ruminants with tawny coats - stags or roe deer - to distinguish them from "black beasts" and "red beasts".

It was later, in the eighteenth century, that it passed from prey to predator - tiger, lynx, wolf, bear or lion… - and finally to humans who let their animal impulses run free.

The imagination that revolves around the "beast" is marked by a representation of the savage as devouring and unleashed bestiality. A set of fantasies of which we seek, with the historian Pierre-Olivier Dittmar, to understand the origins in Western philosophical traditions and the Judeo-Christian heritage, which established the separation between animal passions and human reason, lust and morality, measure and instincts, up to the reversal of the stigma by the “Fauves” painters at the turn of the twentieth century. To feel the beast, to tame the beasts to put them in cages, to subdue them, or on the contrary to release them, the symbolic charges - negative or positive - of the beast are reflected in the diversity of uses of the word and many popular expressions.

We explore this imagination in literature, through “wild embraces” which in their nuances tell a story of disturbing and uncomfortable associations between desire and animality and with contemporary writers who sketch new avenues, as Anne emphasizes. Simon.

We are trying, according to the philosopher Baptiste Morizot, to “untwist” this imaginary, by multiplying the stories which give access to the way in which the other living beings are “familiar aliens”, radically different, while being close. "We are the same, without being the same", says Nate, tracker San, in the article that anthropologist Pierre du Plessis devotes to the shared hunting stories between humans and lions in the Kalahari and to the friendship between the lioness captivates Sirga and her healer Val, whose hugs have millions of views on YouTube.

Fauve, because it has never ceased to designate the one or what is interstitial, in the margins, also indicates the intensity of the encounter with the Other. The one in which you venture without knowing what you are going to find in your face, the one from which you do not come out without a metamorphosis, as Nastassja Martin tells it, or the artists Abraham Poincheval, Jesse Darling, Cécile Serres and Antoine Boute. It is no longer a question either of domesticating or of letting go of the wild animals, but rather of going "in their vicinity", according to the formula of Baptiste Morizot, to rediscover ways of being animal like the patience of the panther, and to come back. more alive, woven with animality in us.

SHEET SOME SELECTED PAGES

Videos of the conferences

Previous issues

Billebaude n°15

FAUVE

Sortie le 13 novembre

Fauve est-il une bête ou fauve est-il un homme ? Une proie ou un prédateur ?

Comment capturer ses nuances chatoyantes ? Que dit le fauve de nos fantasmes du sauvage et de l’animalité ? Ce nouveau numéro de Billebaude explore la polysémie de ce terme, avec ses zones d’ombre, à la lisière de l’humain et de l’animal, où repenser ce qui nous fascine mais aussi ce qui nous rapproche de l’altérité pourtant familière des autres vivants.

PARTAGER

Collection Billebaude

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Prix public TTC France :
19.90 €

Contact
Fondation François Sommer

Anne de Malleray
Directrice de collection
Tél : 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Page Facebook Billebaude

coverFauve

EDITO

Fauve désigne-t-il des animaux – les félins auxquels il est communément associé, comme ceux de la Fauverie du Jardin des plantes – ou parle-t-il des humains et des fantasmes que nous projetons sur les animaux ? Fauve est-il un homme ou est-il une bête ? Une proie ou un prédateur ? Comment capturer les nuances chatoyantes du fauve ? Le trouble dans lequel nous plonge ce mot a conduit Pierre-Louis Duchartre à faire aveu d’impuissance en formulant dans son Dictionnaire de la chasse cette non-définition : « Fauve en qualité d’adjectif puis de nom est un bon exemple des mots qui, à force d’avoir été gonflés de sens différents, ont éclaté. » 

Ce numéro explore la polysémie de ce terme qui demeure « entrouvert », selon la formule de l’anthropologue Nastassja Martin, avec ses zones d’ombre, à la lisière de l’humain et de l’animal, où repenser ce qui nous fascine mais aussi ce qui nous rapproche de l’altérité pourtant familière des autres vivants.

Intraduisible dans d’autres langues, le fauve désigne d’abord un nuancier de couleurs – d’un beige pâle avant de devenir un jaune tirant sur le roux ou le brun, dans une longue série de glissements sémantiques sur laquelle revient l’historien Michel

Pastoureau. Dans la littérature cynégétique, les « bêtes fauves » désignaient avant tout des ruminants au pelage fauve – cerfs ou chevreuils – pour les distinguer des « bêtes noires » et des « bêtes rousses ».

C’est plus tardivement, au xviiie siècle, qu’il passe de la proie au prédateur – tigre, lynx, loup, ours ou lion… – et enfin aux humains qui laissent libre cours à leurs pulsions animales.

L’imaginaire qui gravite autour du « fauve » est empreint d’une représentation du sauvage comme bestialité dévoratrice et déchaînée. Un ensemble de fantasmes dont nous cherchons, avec l’historien Pierre-Olivier Dittmar, à comprendre les origines dans les traditions philosophiques occidentales et l’héritage judéo-chrétien, qui ont institué la séparation entre passions animales et raison humaine, luxure et morale, mesure et instincts, jusqu’à l’inversion du stigmate par les peintres « Fauves » au tournant du xxe siècle. Sentir le fauve, dompter les fauves pour les mettre en cage, les mater, ou au contraire les lâcher, les charges symboliques – négatives ou positives – du fauve transparaissent dans la diversité des usages du mot et de nombreuses expressions populaires.

Cet imaginaire, nous l’explorons en littérature, à travers des « étreintes fauves » qui dans leurs nuances racontent une histoire des associations troublantes et inconfortables entre désir et animalité et avec des écrivains et écrivaines contemporains qui esquissent de nouvelles pistes, comme le souligne Anne Simon.

Nous tentons, suivant le philosophe Baptiste Morizot, de « détordre » cet imaginaire, en multipliant les récits qui donnent accès à la manière dont les autres vivants sont des « aliens familiers », radicalement autres, tout en étant proches. « Nous sommes les mêmes, sans être les mêmes », raconte ainsi !Nate, pisteur San, dans l’article que l’anthropologue Pierre du Plessis consacre aux histoires partagées de chasse entre humains et lions dans le Kalahari et à l’amitié entre la lionne captive Sirga et son soigneur Val, dont les câlins font des millions de vues sur YouTube.

Fauve, parce qu’il n’a cessé de désigner celui ou ce qui est interstitiel, dans les marges, dit aussi l’intensité de la rencontre avec l’Autre. Celle dans laquelle on s’aventure sans savoir ce que l’on va trouver dans son visage, celle dont on ne sort pas sans métamorphose, comme le racontent Nastassja Martin, ou les artistes Abraham Poincheval, Jesse Darling, Cécile Serres et Antoine Boute. Il ne s’agit plus ni de domestiquer ni de lâcher les fauves, mais plutôt d’aller « dans leurs parages », suivant la formule de Baptiste Morizot, pour redécouvrir des manières d’être animal comme la patience de la panthère, et revenir plus vivant, tissé d’animalité en nous.

FEUILLETER QUELQUES PAGES CHOISIES

Vidéos des conférences

Numéro précédents