Billebaude n ° 14

SOUND WORLDS

ABOUT 3 APRIL 2019

The remarkable diversity of forms and colors of living things has helped shape our imaginations and our arts. His songs have also inspired our musical compositions, yet our bias as visual primates generally makes us less sensitive to the richness of the sound worlds around us. By immersing oneself in the partitions of living things, this issue proposes to pay attention to the exchanges of vibrations and sounds - intra- but also interspecific - to communicate, to share territories, to reproduce ... From there, we could imagine other methods of communication with the living, to get along better?

SHARE

Billebaude Collection

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Public price TTC France:
19.90€

Contact
François Sommer Foundation

Anne de Malleray
Director of collection
Tel: 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Facebook page Billebaude

DOWNLOAD THE SUMMARY OF THE ISSUE

BAND-SOUND OF THE NUMBER

CV_B14.pdf_page_1

EDITORIAL

Berlin, a still cool night in May. The streets are deserted. A few distant flashes dot the calm night: rare passers-by, rosy cheeks, continue their discussions on foot or by bicycle. Otherwise, not a cat. Not a car. But the night is far from silent: chants with complex modulations and rhythms resonate all around us, elated and tireless. We are silent, and the attention expands from being focused. We are captivated by this unexpected concert, which we believe played by dozens of birds, as the notes and sequences are so varied. Impossible to identify the source of these songs which delight us. 

In the fall, we are back to meet bio-acoustician Karl-Heinz Frommolt at the Tierstimmenarchiv of the Berlin Natural History Museum. Among the tens of thousands of animal sounds in the archive, he makes us listen to a recording of the nightingale which gringot, quiritte or trill. An impression of already heard grabs us. It's him ! This acoustic Proust madeleine transports us to this night in May. We then realize that it was probably the song of a single nightingale, or a few individuals, and not an orchestra of dozens of birds. The grateful memory of this spring joy is enriched by this a posteriori recognition - we now know here was here.

“Yesterday, in the evening, between the roses and the wine the nightingale sang joyfully: bring the cup. Oh ! all of you who are taken with wine, greetings to you ”, wrote the Persian poet Hafiz in the fourteenth century. In his Odes, the song of the nightingale is compared to the expressions of poets and musicians, and invites drunkenness. We like to find in the sound worlds of living harmonies that inspire our human music. Berlin is known for its nights filled with the song of nightingales, which musician David Rothenberg joins almost every year to play the clarinet with them. As attractive as the idea of ​​being able to play music with other species is, we have to admit that we will not know if they are actually playing. together. Is there a possibility of agreeing in a musical game, an exchange that one would like to be meaningful? A question also raised by jam sessions between spiders and musicians imagined by artist Tomás Saraceno.

Guided by humans who know how to pay attention to it - bioacousticians, musicians, oceanologists, hunters, artists, philosophers - this number invites us, like François Sarano immersed in the ocean, to listen to us. The cries of the queen bee, the barking of the deer, the clicks of the sperm whale, the “explosive” concert of the amphibians, the howl of the wolf run through this number. With them, we seek to deploy the variations and the diversity of the functions attributed to cries, songs and other means of sound communication in living beings.

What can we understand about these sound worlds foreign to our own, and can we understand each other? We can imitate animals by whistling, like the eagle hunters of Rondônia, trying to learn the intricacies of their language, tinkering with tools and inventing translation modes to forge sound links. Invisible, they can arouse forms of joy like the one communicated by the young ornithologist Quentin Hallet when he teaches us to detect the presence of birds hidden at the top of an Ardennes forest. The one also witnessed by the artist Knud Viktor, explorer of the tiny sounds of the Luberon, the day he manages to record the snoring of a rabbit in its burrow. According to the philosopher Vinciane Despret, the listening experience can defamiliarize us from our usual relationships, mainly visual, to living beings. It may be necessary to start by being silent so that the world around suddenly becomes much less silent and reanimates ... In an Andersen tale, the song of the little nightingale saves the emperor of China at the last minute. of Death, come to take it. “The blood was circulating faster and faster in the weakened limbs of the dying man and Death herself listened and said: 'Go on, little nightingale, go on!' "

SHEET SOME SELECTED PAGES

Appointment

nightingale-1

NIGHT OF ROSSIGNOL

VOICE ANIMAL

ANIMAL VOICES

Videos of the conferences

Previous issues

Billebaude n°14

MONDES SONORES

PARU LE 3 AVRIL 2019

La diversité remarquable des formes et des couleurs du vivant a contribué à façonner nos imaginaires et nos arts. Ses chants ont aussi inspiré nos compositions musicales, pourtant, notre biais de primates visuels nous rend généralement moins sensibles à la richesse des mondes sonores qui nous entourent. En s’immergeant dans les partitions du vivant, ce numéro propose de prêter attention aux échanges de vibrations et de sons – intra- mais aussi interspécifiques – pour communiquer, se partager des territoires, se reproduire... De là, pourrions-nous imaginer d’autres modalités de communication avec les vivants, pour mieux nous entendre ?

PARTAGER

Collection Billebaude

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Prix public TTC France :
19.90 €

Contact
Fondation François Sommer

Anne de Malleray
Directrice de collection
Tél : 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Page Facebook Billebaude

TÉLÉCHARGER LE SOMMAIRE DU NUMÉRO

CV_B14.pdf_page_1

EDITO

Berlin, une nuit encore fraîche du mois de mai. Les rues sont désertes. Quelques éclats lointains émaillent la nuit calme : de rares passants, les joues rosées, continuent leurs discussions à pied ou à vélo. Sinon, pas un chat. Pas une voiture. Mais la nuit est loin d’être silencieuse : des chants aux modulations et aux rythmes complexes résonnent tout autour de nous, exaltés et infatigables. On se tait, et l’attention s’élargit d’être concentrée. Nous sommes captivés par ce concert inattendu, que nous croyons joué par des dizaines d’oiseaux, tant les notes et les séquences sont variées. Impossible d’identifier la source de ces chants qui nous ravissent. 

À l’automne, nous sommes de retour pour rencontrer le bio- acousticien Karl-Heinz Frommolt à la Tierstimmenarchiv du Muséum d’histoire naturelle de Berlin. Parmi les dizaines de milliers de sons animaux que compte l’archive, il nous fait écouter un enregistrement du rossignol philomèle qui gringotte, quiritte ou trille. Une impression de déjà-ouï nous saisit. C’est lui ! Cette madeleine de Proust acoustique nous transporte dans cette nuit du mois de mai. On réalise alors qu’il s’agissait sans doute du chant d’un seul rossignol, ou de quelques individus, et non d’un orchestre de dizaines d’oiseaux. Le souvenir reconnaissant de cette joie printanière s’enrichit de cette reconnaissance a posteriori — nous savons désormais qui était là.

« Hier, sur le soir, entre les roses et le vin le rossignol chantait joyeusement : apportez la coupe. Oh ! vous tous qui êtes pris de vin, salut sur vous », écrivait le poète persan Hafiz au xive siècle. Dans ses Odes, le chant du rossignol est comparé aux expressions des poètes et des musiciens, et invite à l’ivresse. Nous aimons retrouver dans les mondes sonores du vivant des harmonies qui inspirent nos musiques humaines. Berlin est connue pour ses nuits peuplées par le chant des rossignols, auxquels se joint presque chaque année le musicien David Rothenberg pour jouer avec eux de la clarinette. Si séduisante soit l’idée de pouvoir jouer de la musique avec d’autres espèces, force est de reconnaître qu’on ne saura pas s’ils jouent véritablement ensemble. Y a-t-il une possibilité de s’accorder dans un jeu musical, un échange que l’on voudrait signifiant ? Une question que soulèvent aussi les jam sessions entre araignées et musiciens imaginées par l’artiste Tomás Saraceno.

Guidé par des humains qui savent y prêter attention — bioacousticiens, musiciens, océanologues, chasseurs, artistes, philosophes — ce numéro nous invite, comme François Sarano immergé dans l’océan, à nous mettre à l’écoute. Les cris de la reine des abeilles, les aboiements du chevreuil, les clics du cachalot, le concert « explosif » des batraciens, le hurlement du loup traversent ce numéro. Avec eux, nous cherchons à déployer les variations et la diversité des fonctions attribuées aux cris, aux chants et autres moyens de communication sonore dans le vivant.

Que peut-on comprendre de ces mondes sonores étrangers aux nôtres, et peut-on se comprendre ? Nous pouvons imiter les animaux en sifflant, comme les chasseurs aigles du Rondônia, essayer d’apprendre les subtilités de leur langue, bricoler des outils et inventer des modes de traduction pour tisser des liens sonores. Invisibles, ils peuvent susciter des formes de joie comme celle que communique le jeune ornithologue amateur Quentin Hallet lorsqu’il nous apprend à déceler les présences des oiseaux cachés à la cime d’une forêt ardennaise. Celle aussi dont témoigne l’artiste Knud Viktor, explorateur des sons minuscules du Luberon, ce jour où il parvient à enregistrer les ronflements d’un lapin dans son terrier. Selon la philosophe Vinciane Despret, l’expérience d’écoute peut nous défamiliariser de nos rapports habituels, principalement visuels, au vivant. Il faut peut-être commencer par faire silence pour que le monde autour devienne tout à coup beaucoup moins silencieux et qu’il se réanime... Dans un conte d’Andersen, le chant du petit rossignol sauve in extremis l’empereur de Chine de la Mort, venue le prendre. « Le sang circulait de plus en plus vite dans les membres affaiblis du mourant et la Mort, elle-même, écoutait et disait : “Continue, petit rossignol, continue !” »

FEUILLETER QUELQUES PAGES CHOISIES

Rendez-vous

rossignol-1

NUIT DU ROSSIGNOL

VOIX-ANIMALES

VOIX ANIMALES

Vidéos des conférences

Numéro précédents