Billebaude n ° 13

AFFIX THE 6EMETIN

NOVEMBER 2018

How is the red list of threatened species, which assesses the degree of threat to species in mainland France and overseas, drawn up by scientists? How, in a time of biodiversity crisis, can it serve as a compass for carrying out conservation programs for endangered species? What does the disappearance of species do to our sensitivity? How to deal with this feeling of loss while retaining the capacity to act? Based on this increasingly alarming scientific observation, this issue of Billebaude will seek to explore forms of cohabitation in order to live in harmony with other living beings.

An issue produced in partnership with IUCN France (International Union for the Conservation of Nature).

SHARE

Billebaude Collection

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Public price TTC France:
19.90€

Contact
François Sommer Foundation

Anne de Malleray
Director of collection
Tel: 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Facebook page Billebaude

DOWNLOAD THE SUMMARY OF THE ISSUE

Cov-Billebaude-13

EDITORIAL

"That one species mourns another, this is a novelty under the sun1 », noted Aldo Leopold about the monument dedicated to the extinct American migratory pigeon, inaugurated in 1947 in Wyalusing National Park (Wisconsin). The crisis of mass extinction of species that we are going through today is not the first in Earth's history. But it is unique in that it is caused by a species, Homo sapienswhose way of life impacts that of other living beings.

With its network of scientists, the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) is at the forefront. The organization updates and develops in particular the global red list of threatened species, a barometer of the state of conservation of biodiversity, and draws up recommendations to try to stop its loss.
The project of a joint issue with the French Committee of IUCN was born from a desire to create an exploration space at the crossroads of conservation sciences, human sciences and the arts to think about this crisis.

For "Compose a new pact with the living", as its director calls it, we need the knowledge produced by natural history, evolutionary sciences, scientific ecology and conservation programs deployed in the field, but also to question this crisis in terms of affects and sensitivity. This issue was thus fueled by common questions about what the study of living things could mean in times of extinction and the sharing of alarming scientific findings that do not reduce to despair, but give the ability to act.

There is a double meaning in the idea of ​​confronting. First, to face up, to find out how to respond to the crisis, with what ideas, what practices, what strategies. And face up, in the sense of taking the measure, living with this crisis and the disappearances that it brings about. The articulation between these two nuances of the word runs through the whole issue.

We wanted to publish stories and works of art that draw on the tradition of storytelling and naturalistic representations. They question our modern scientific history and reinvest the aesthetic power of these formats. Using hollowed-out naturalist boards, the artist Brandon Ballangée explores the questions of mourning, ritual and absence, without this amounting to giving in to despair or tipping into the aestheticization of loss. On the contrary, because the challenge for us is to revive and make communicative the joy that there is "Explore life" around you, this biophilia, about which the entomologist Edward Wilson, inventor of the word biodiversity, speaks. "It is as far as we come to understand other organizations that we will give them more value, as to ourselves", he writes in the preface to Biophilia2 as an optimistic observation about the power contained in the life sciences to recreate links. In this issue, you will be able to follow entomologists, leaning on the butterflies of the fields, who bring out a living world behind the banal prairie, discover the evolutionary saga of the Hawaiian snails, explore the animal ancestralities of humans who reaffirm us to other living. Collectively reinvesting naturalistic practices and knowledge, experimenting with modes of cohabitation, telling other stories… These are all paths explored here to face the sixth extinction.

1. The Almanac of a County of Sands, Aldo Leopold, Flammarion, 2000, original edition 1948 2. Biophilia, Edward Wilson, Corti editions, 2012.

SHEET SOME SELECTED PAGES

Appointment

Hazelnut

SAVING THE LADY

Videos of the conferences

Previous issues

Billebaude n°13

AFFRONTER LA 6ÈME EXTINCTION

PARU NOVEMBRE 2018

Comment la liste rouge des espèces menacées, qui évalue le degré de menace pesant sur les espèces en métropole et en outre-mer, est-elle élaborée par les scientifiques ? En quoi, dans un moment de crise de la biodiversité, peut-elle servir de boussole pour mener des programmes de conservation des espèces en danger? Qu’est-ce que la disparition des espèces fait à notre sensibilité ? Comment composer avec ce senti- ment de perte tout en conservant la capacité d’agir ? À partir de ce constat scientifique de plus en plus alarmant, ce numéro de Billebaude cherchera à explorer des formes de cohabitation pour vivre en bonne intelligence avec les autres vivants.

Un numéro réalisé en partenariat avec l’UICN France (Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature).

PARTAGER

Collection Billebaude

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Prix public TTC France :
19.90 €

Contact
Fondation François Sommer

Anne de Malleray
Directrice de collection
Tél : 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Page Facebook Billebaude

TÉLÉCHARGER LE SOMMAIRE DU NUMÉRO

Couv-Billebaude-13

EDITO

« Qu’une espèce porte le deuil d’une autre, voilà une nouveauté sous le soleil1 », constatait Aldo Leopold à propos du monument dédié au pigeon migrateur américain disparu, inauguré en 1947 dans le parc national de Wyalusing (Wisconsin). La crise d’extinction massive des espèces que nous traversons aujourd’hui n’est pas la première de l’histoire de la Terre. Mais elle est inédite en ce qu’elle est causée par une espèce, Homo sapiens, dont le mode de vie impacte celui des autres vivants.

Avec son réseau de scientifiques, l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) est en première ligne. L’organisation tient à jour et développe notamment la liste rouge mondiale des espèces menacées, baromètre de l’état de conservation de la biodiversité, et élabore des recommandations pour tenter d’enrayer sa perte.
Le projet d’un numéro commun avec le Comité français de l’UICN est né d’une volonté de créer un espace d’exploration à la croisée des sciences de la conservation, des sciences humaines et des arts pour penser cette crise.

Pour « composer un nouveau pacte avec le vivant », tel que l’appelle de ses voeux son directeur, nous avons besoin des savoirs produits par l’histoire naturelle, les sciences de l’évolution, l’écologie scientifique et des programmes de conservation déployés sur le terrain, mais aussi d’interroger cette crise sur le plan des affects et de la sensibilité. Ce numéro a ainsi été nourri par des questionnements communs sur ce que pouvait signifier l’étude du vivant en temps d’extinction et le partage de constats scientifiques alarmants qui ne réduisent pas au désespoir, mais donnent la capacité d’agir.

Il y a un double sens dans l’idée d’affronter. D’abord faire front, chercher comment répondre à la crise, avec quelles idées, quelles pratiques, quelles stratégies. Et faire face, au sens de prendre la mesure, vivre avec cette crise et les disparitions qu’elle entraîne. L’articulation entre ces deux nuances du mot traverse tout le numéro.

Nous avons souhaité publier des histoires et des oeuvres d’art qui puisent dans la tradition du récit et des représentations naturalistes. Elles interrogent notre histoire scientifique moderne et réinvestissent la puissance esthétique de ces formats. A partir de planches naturalistes évidées, l’artiste Brandon Ballangée explore les questions du deuil, du rituel et de l’absence, sans que cela revienne à céder au désespoir ni basculer dans l’esthétisation de la perte. Au contraire, car l’enjeu pour nous est de raviver et rendre communicative la joie qu’il y a a « explorer la vie » autour de soi, cette biophilie, dont parle l’entomologiste Edward Wilson, inventeur du mot biodiversité. « C’est pour autant que nous en viendrons à comprendre d’autres organismes que nous leur accorderons plus de prix, comme à nous-mêmes », écrit-il dans la préface de Biophilie2 comme un constat optimiste sur la puissance contenue dans les sciences du vivant pour recréer des liens. Dans ce numéro, vous pourrez suivre des entomologistes, penchés sur les papillons des champs, qui font émerger un monde vivant derrière la prairie banale, découvrir la saga évolutive des escargots d’Hawaï, explorer les ancestralités animales de l’humain qui nous réaffilient aux autres vivants. Réinvestir collectivement des pratiques et des savoirs naturalistes, expérimenter des modes de cohabitation, raconter d’autres histoires… Ce sont autant de chemins explorés ici pour affronter la sixième extinction.

1. L’Almanach d’un Comté des Sables, Aldo Leopold, Flammarion, 2000, édition originale 1948 2. Biophilie, Edward Wilson, éditions Corti, 2012.

FEUILLETER QUELQUES PAGES CHOISIES

Rendez-vous

Vidéos des conférences

Numéro précédents