Billebaude n ° 12

GATHER

MAY 2018

An ancestral practice, rediscovered today as a way of imagining another relationship to food, gathering also engages other relationships with wild nature. It deeply questions the classifications and practices resulting from our agricultural civilization and, beyond that, the modalities of our relations with the living. Because bringing back the attention of the picker and the forgotten knowledge of "good herbs" to ours means remembering that wild spaces are also nourishing territories, the use and knowledge of which we share with other species. In this issue, you will find forgotten knowledge, methods and recipes to rediscover the virtues of wild plants.

SHARE

Billebaude Collection

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Public price TTC France:
19.90€

Contact
François Sommer Foundation

Anne de Malleray
Director of collection
Tel: 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Facebook page Billebaude

DOWNLOAD THE SUMMARY OF THE ISSUE

cover-Billebaude-n-pick-12

EDITORIAL

We advance in single file on the rugged forest path, concentrated on the descent. Some, more alert, spot a first bush of wild raspberries. We all begin to scan the landscape from the height of the shrubs. As the eye searches for them, it is as if the pink of the raspberries becomes more vivid, almost vibrant, against the green background of the summer undergrowth. Suddenly caught in the “picking fever”, we only see the fruits. Wild harvesting is unique in that it sharpens the senses. The gaze must practice discriminating between tones and shapes in the undifferentiated green of the undergrowth or the meadow.

You also have to learn to identify plants by smell, by crumpling a leaf in your hands, and to distinguish between the deadly velvety smoothness of foxglove and the roughness of edible comfrey. In this issue, we explore the gathering not as a folklore, with its characters, its decoctions and its anecdotes, but as a practice likely to open ways to make us sensitive to the living through immersion in places and forms. attention and knowledge that it involves. As I picked the raspberries in these mountain pastures, I thought of the fox or the bird that might come and feed in the same place and of the joy they too would have in finding them. Gathering food in uncultivated nature, by chance of quest and encounter, is a way of feeling one alive among others in an inhabited nature.

If at home picking is no longer vital, unlike other places in the world as reported by the stories of picking in the Gilé reserve, in Mozambique, or tracking truffles in the Kalahari desert, it is today. hui invested by those, more and more numerous, who seek to reappropriate their food and to reconnect with naturalistic knowledge. Of course, harvesting sometimes takes on an extractive dimension for pharmaceutical, cosmetic or food production. This is not to forget it, but to explore how this ancestral practice potentially has the power to remind us that we depend on the living to nourish us and heal us. This issue therefore invites you to rediscover forgotten tastes, knowledge and the place of wild plants in our human history. "Recognition of the brutal nettle, the invasive goosefoot, the rusty patience, the raspy pig. [...] Better than the lily and the rose, they have ensured the survival of men ", writes the ethnobotanist Pierre Lieutaghi, who works to rehabilitate “weeds. They are qualified as such in contrast to agricultural plants, cultivated and selected by humans. The practice of gathering opens up a whole range of possible relationships with plants, blurring the line between wild and cultivated spaces, whether they are the “sons of guaranà” tamed by the Sateré-Mawé in the Amazon rainforest or, more close, the wild alliary that two Breton farmers introduce into their vegetable garden.

In a context of a biodiversity crisis, harvesting, in its variants such as scientific collection, herbalism or the marketing of nourishing plants, draws a picture of the evolution of our relationships with living organisms, our medicine and our scientific culture. As the anthropologist Anna L. Tsing tells us, we can no longer pretend to pick in a bucolic nature and preserved from our impacts. By following matsutake pickers in the industrial forests of Oregon, a human and non-human ecosystem victim of the overexploitation of resources, she calls for the invention of collaborative forms of survival with the living in the ruins of capitalism. For this we need to revive the "arts of observation", which involve forms of attention comparable to those involved in gathering. Art historian Estelle Zhong Mengual describes how painter Frederic Church hijacks classical painting techniques to "To paint plants as faces", thus mobilizing forms of attention resulting from millennia of selective picking. Gathering in this context can become a way of paying attention to the landscape.

SHEET SOME SELECTED PAGES

Appointment

Hazelnut

SAVING THE LADY

Videos of the conferences

Previous issues

Billebaude n°12

CUEILLIR

PARU MAI 2018

Pratique ancestrale, redécouverte aujourd’hui comme une façon d’imaginer un autre rapport à l’alimentation, la cueillette engage aussi d’autres relations à la nature sauvage. Elle questionne en creux les classifications et les pratiques issues de notre civilisation agricole et, au-delà, les modalités de nos relations avec les vivants. Car refaire nôtres l’attention du cueilleur et le savoir oublié des « bonnes herbes », c’est se souvenir que les espaces sauvages sont également des territoires nourriciers, dont nous partageons l’usage et la connaissance avec d’autres espèces. Dans ce numéro, vous trouverez des savoirs oubliés, des méthodes et des recettes pour redécouvrir les vertus des plantes sauvages.

PARTAGER

Collection Billebaude

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Prix public TTC France :
19.90 €

Contact
Fondation François Sommer

Anne de Malleray
Directrice de collection
Tél : 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Page Facebook Billebaude

TÉLÉCHARGER LE SOMMAIRE DU NUMÉRO

couverture-Billebaude-n-12-cueillir

EDITO

Nous avançons en file indienne sur le sentier forestier accidenté, concentrés sur la descente. Certains, plus alertes, repèrent un premier buisson de framboises sauvages. Nous commençons tous à scruter le paysage à hauteur d’arbustes. À mesure que l’œil les cherche, c’est comme si le rose des framboises devenait plus vif, presque vibrant, sur le fond vert du sous-bois d’été. Soudainement pris par « la fièvre de la cueillette », nous ne voyons plus que les fruits. La cueillette sauvage a ceci de particulier qu’elle aiguise les sens. Le regard doit s’exercer à discriminer entre les tons et les formes dans le vert indifférencié du sous-bois ou de la prairie.

Il faut aussi apprendre à identifier les plantes à l’odeur, en froissant une feuille dans ses mains, et à distinguer au toucher entre le velouté mortel de la digitale et la rugosité de la consoude comestible. Dans ce numéro, nous explorons la cueillette non comme un folklore, avec ses personnages, ses décoctions et ses anecdotes, mais comme une pratique susceptible d’ouvrir des chemins pour nous rendre sensibles au vivant par l’immersion dans des lieux et par les formes d’attention et de savoirs qu’elle implique. En cueillant les framboises dans ces alpages, je pensais au renard ou à l’oiseau qui viendraient peut-être se nourrir au même endroit et à la joie qu’ils auraient, eux aussi, à les trouver. Cueillir sa nourriture dans une nature non-cultivée, au hasard de la quête et de la rencontre, est une façon de se sentir un vivant parmi les autres dans une nature habitée.

Si chez nous la cueillette n’est plus vitale, contrairement à d’autres endroits du monde comme le rapportent les histoires de cueillette dans la réserve de Gilé, au Mozambique, ou de pistage des truffes dans le désert du Kalahari, elle est aujourd’hui investie par ceux, de plus en plus nombreux, qui cherchent à se réapproprier leur alimentation et à renouer avec des savoirs naturalistes. Bien sûr, la cueillette prend parfois une dimension extractive à des fins de production pharmaceutique, cosmétique ou alimentaire. Il ne s’agit en rien de l’oublier, mais d’explorer comment cette pratique ancestrale a potentiellement le pouvoir de nous rappeler que nous dépendons du vivant pour nous nourrir et nous soigner. Ce numéro invite donc à redécouvrir des goûts, des savoirs oubliés et la place des plantes sauvages dans notre histoire humaine. « Reconnaissance à l’ortie brutale, au chénopode envahissant, à la patience rouillée, à la porcelle râpeuse. [...] Mieux que le lis et la rose, ils ont veillé à la survie des hommes », écrit ainsi l’ethnobotaniste Pierre Lieutaghi, qui œuvre à la réhabilitation des « mauvaises herbes. » Elles sont qualifiées comme telles par opposition aux plantes agricoles, cultivées et sélectionnées par les humains. La pratique de la cueillette ouvre toute une gamme de relations possibles aux plantes, brouillant la frontière entre espaces sauvages et espaces cultivés, qu’il s’agisse des « fils du guaranà » apprivoisés par les Sateré-Mawé dans la forêt amazonienne ou, plus proche, de l’alliaire sauvage que deux agriculteurs bretons introduisent dans leur potager.

Dans un contexte de crise de la biodiversité, la cueillette, dans ses variantes que sont la collecte scientifique, l’herboristerie ou la commercialisation de plantes nourricières, dessine le tableau de l’évolution de nos relations au vivant, de notre médecine et de notre culture scientifique. Comme le raconte l’anthropologue Anna L. Tsing, on ne peut plus faire semblant de cueillir dans une nature bucolique et préservée de nos impacts. En suivant les cueilleurs de matsutakes dans les forêts industrielles de l’Oregon, écosystème humain et non-humain victime de la surexploitation des ressources, elle appelle à l’invention de formes de survie collaboratives avec le vivant dans les ruines du capitalisme. Nous avons pour cela besoin de raviver des « arts de l’observation », qui passent par des formes d’attention comparables à celles qu’impliquent la cueillette. L’historienne de l’art Estelle Zhong Mengual décrit comment le peintre Frederic Church détourne les techniques picturales classiques pour « peindre les végétaux comme des visages », mobilisant ainsi des formes d’attention issues de millénaires de pratique de cueillette sélective. Cueillir dans ce contexte peut devenir une façon de faire attention au paysage.

FEUILLETER QUELQUES PAGES CHOISIES

Rendez-vous

Vidéos des conférences

Numéro précédents