Billebaude n ° 11

THE IMAGINARY ANIMAL

2017 AUTUMN

The imaginary animal is the one invented in tales and myths. This imaginary evolves over time. It is relative to what is real, to how we know animals, how we live with them. Mermaid, octopus, mammoth, owl are told by researchers in history, anthropology, literature… like these animals whose territories lie at the narrow border between reality and imagination. Do they exist or not? What myths do we invent about them? With the artist Julien Salaud, of whom we publish a gallery, animals hybridize. Faced with the disappearance of biodiversity, another imaginary bestiary emerges from the pen of contemporary writers. We also explore the question of the place occupied by animals in our imagination by delivering to you a letter written by “the Others”, the animals of which the philosopher Paul Shepard imagines what they could tell us.

SHARE

Billebaude Collection

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Public price TTC France:
19.90€

Contact
François Sommer Foundation

Anne de Malleray
Director of collection
Tel: 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Facebook page Billebaude

DOWNLOAD THE SUMMARY OF THE ISSUE

Billebaude-11

EDITORIAL

In his autobiographical account A year in the countryside (Gallimard, 1988), Sue Hubbell, a biologist by training, converted into a solitary beekeeper in Missouri, quotes this classification unearthed by Jorge Luis Borges in a "Chinese encyclopedia". She tells : “This list made us laugh, a few friends and I, and we decided that our reaction said more about us and our Western European way of thinking than it said about a supposedly Eastern worldview. "

In our eyes, the border between what is real and what is imaginary is clearly delimited and very tight: this is why this mixture of genres makes us smile. What we hold to be real is what is true, objective, produced by scientific rationality. Everything else is imaginary. This number of Billebaude questions this founding distinction of our Western way of thinking by exploring more particularly its influence on our relationships with animals. We have chosen to put real and imaginary animals on the same level - from thylacine to the owl via dahu - in order to try to understand how these imaginary animals are born and what they reveal about our relationships with "real" animals, and, more broadly, our vision of the world.

Anthropologist Boris P. Chichlo tells how, from mammoth tusks flush with Siberian soil, hunters "tinker" with a sacred creature taking the features of a "Aquatic bull" or "Underground reindeer". The artist Martin Jarrie presents, with his series of drawings, a story of our Western imagination of the owl, which as a symbol of ancient wisdom will end up being nailed to the doors of barns. Anthropologist and sociologist of science, Pierre Lagrange retraces an expedition in search of sirens. If their presence was taken seriously by Western anthropologists, they ended up trapped in the socio-technical networks deployed in an attempt to provide material and scientific proof of their existence.

These stories, by focusing on creatures that navigate, in time and space, between real and imaginary, offer us clues to understand how our imaginations are made and unmade around animals, and how these categories that we thought stable are permeable and changeable. They invite us to take the imagination seriously as a space that can say something about our relationships with animals.

If we follow the thesis of the philosopher Paul Shepard, whose “Message on behalf of the Others” we publish - a letter written to humans by animals - which he left us as a heritage, our interior life is constituted. , since the dawn of time, by and with animal presences. He tells us how, over thousands of years of living together, they have inspired and lived in us by shaping our imaginations. From them we derive our dances, our adornments, our symbols. What are their massive disappearance doing today and their status as a domesticated mass or a threatened savage to our inner lives, our arts, and our imagination?

SHEET SOME SELECTED PAGES

Videos of the conferences

Appointment

17.05.17-night-hunting and nature-museum

ON THE BEAR TRACK

Previous issues

Billebaude n°11

L’ANIMAL IMAGINAIRE

PARU AUTOMNE 2017

L’animal imaginaire est celui que l’on invente dans les contes et les mythes. Cet imaginaire évolue dans le temps. Il est relatif à ce qui est réel, à la façon dont nous connaissons les animaux, dont nous vivons avec eux. Sirène, pieuvre, mammouth, chouette sont racontés par des chercheurs en histoire, anthropologie, littérature… comme ces animaux dont les territoires se situent à la frontière étroite entre le réel et l’imaginaire. Existent-ils ou non ? Quels mythes invente-t-on sur eux ? Chez l’artiste Julien Salaud, dont nous publions une galerie, les animaux s’hybrident. Devant la disparition de la biodiversité, un autre bestiaire imaginaire émerge sous la plume d’écrivains contemporains. Nous explorons aussi la question de la place qu’occupe l’animal dans notre imaginaire en vous livrant une missive écrite par « les Autres », les animaux dont le philosophe Paul Shepard imagine ce qu’ils pourraient nous dire.

PARTAGER

Collection Billebaude

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Prix public TTC France :
19.90 €

Contact
Fondation François Sommer

Anne de Malleray
Directrice de collection
Tél : 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Page Facebook Billebaude

TÉLÉCHARGER LE SOMMAIRE DU NUMÉRO

Billebaude-11

EDITO

Dans son récit autobiographique Une année à la campagne (Gallimard, 1988), Sue Hubbell, biologiste de formation, convertie en apicultrice solitaire dans le Missouri, cite cette classification dénichée par Jorge Luis Borges dans une « encyclopédie chinoise ». Elle raconte : « Cette liste nous fit rire, quelques amis et moi, et nous décidâmes que notre réaction en disait plus long sur nous et notre mode de pensée européen occidental, qu’elle n’en dit sur une conception du monde prétendument orientale. »

À nos yeux, la frontière entre ce qui est réel et ce qui est imaginaire est nettement délimitée et bien étanche : c’est pourquoi ce mélange des genres nous fait sourire. Ce que nous tenons pour réel, c’est ce qui est vrai, objectif, produit par la rationalité scientifique. Tout le reste est imaginaire. Ce numéro de Billebaude interroge cette distinction fondatrice de notre mode de pensée occidental en explorant plus particulièrement son influence sur nos relations aux animaux. Nous avons choisi de mettre sur le même plan animaux réels et imaginaires – du thylacine à la chouette en passant par le dahu –, pour tenter de comprendre comment naissent ces animaux imaginaires et ce qu’ils révèlent de nos relations aux animaux « réels », et, plus largement, de notre vision du monde.

L’anthropologue Boris P. Chichlo raconte comment, à partir des défenses de mammouth affleurant du sol sibérien, les chasseurs « bricolent » une créature sacrée prenant les traits d’un « taureau aquatique » ou d’un « renne souterrain ». L’artiste Martin Jarrie présente, avec sa série de dessins, une histoire de notre imaginaire occidental de la chouette, qui de symbole de sagesse antique finira par être clouée aux portes des granges. Anthropologue et sociologue des sciences, Pierre Lagrange retrace une expédition à la recherche des sirènes. Si leur présence fut prise au sérieux par les anthropologues occidentaux, elles finirent prises au piège des réseaux sociotechniques déployés pour tenter de fournir des preuves matérielles et scientifiques de leur existence.

Ces récits, en s’intéressant à des créatures qui naviguent, dans le temps et l’espace, entre réel et imaginaire, nous offrent des pistes pour comprendre comment se font et se défont nos imaginaires autour de l’animal, et comment ces catégories que nous pensions stables sont perméables et changeantes. Ils invitent à de prendre au sérieux l’imaginaire comme un espace qui peut dire quelque chose de nos relations aux animaux.

Si l’on suit la thèse du philosophe Paul Shepard, dont nous publions le « Message de la part des Autres » – une lettre écrite aux humains par les animaux – qu’il nous a laissé en héritage, notre vie intérieure s’est constituée, depuis la nuit des temps, par et avec les présences animales. Il nous raconte comment, au fil de millénaires de vie commune, ils nous ont inspirés et habités en modelant nos imaginaires. D’eux nous tirons nos danses, nos parures, nos symboles. Que font leur disparition massive, aujourd’hui, et leur statut de masse domestiquée ou de sauvage menacé à nos vies intérieures, à nos arts, et à notre imaginaire ?

FEUILLETER QUELQUES PAGES CHOISIES

Vidéos des conférences

Rendez-vous

Numéro précédents