Billebaude n ° 10

ON THE ANIMAL TRACK

JUNE 2017

The way in which animals live, mostly hidden from humans, is a source of mysteries. This issue explores the different ways, coming from the first hunters, of following the trail of animals and understanding their modes of existence. Today, tracking takes on a scientific dimension, because it has become the essential tool for monitoring wildlife. Who lives here ? How does he make territory? What are its vital circulation routes, invisible to us? While most humans in the twenty-first century walk in a nature-landscape, where they no longer know how to see other presences, following the animal's trail allows us to read the territory differently, to understand that we live in a habitat shared with other living beings.

This issue is produced in partnership with the National Office for Hunting and Wildlife, a specialist in the scientific monitoring of wildlife in France. It accompanies the summer exhibition of the Museum of Hunting and Nature, "Animate the landscape, on the trail of the living", designed as a passage. While our imagination and our modern representations position us humans outside the landscape, the works in the exhibition will seek to immerse us inside, to represent a living territory, made up of relationships - rich and sometimes conflicting. -, between humans and non-humans.

SHARE

Billebaude Collection

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Public price TTC France:
19.90€

Contact
François Sommer Foundation

Anne de Malleray
Director of collection
Tel: 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Facebook page Billebaude

DOWNLOAD THE SUMMARY OF THE ISSUE

Billebaude-10

EDITORIAL

This issue invites you to follow the animal trail, an activity that dates back to the origins of humanity when hunting depended on our survival and we had to know how to coexist with animals, when our vital territories and our resources were shared. This hunting knowledge - reading the way, the traces, deciphering the leftovers - is not just a heritage of the past.

They are used today to understand where animals live, what their territories are, how their invisible architectures, their habitats, overlap with ours or disappear for lack of space. Scientists from the National Wildlife Office, with whom we are teaming up for this issue, provide valuable data on wildlife habitats. This is why tracking can be a tool for cohabitation: knowing the territory of animals allows us to adapt our ways of occupying it to make room for them, to redraw maps with their presence.

Tracking allows you to see nature differently. In our modern imagination, the landscape and a beautiful panorama, a postcard, a pleasant setting for the human eye. If nature is a setting, it's because we don't know how to read it otherwise. Tracking allows us to pay attention to animals, in a way that, for once, brings us into their world, according to their rules and perspective. What would he do here? By asking ourselves this question so as not to lose track, we are indeed forced to change perspective to adopt theirs. You don't have to be deep in the woods for this. Tracking is a way of paying attention to animal presences wherever they are, including in our domestic and urban environments. By tracking, we rediscover that we are not alone in inhabiting the world. According to the trackers we have approached for this issue, there is immense joy in feeling that one belongs to a world larger than that of humans.

This issue is an extension of the summer exhibition at the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature, “Animate the landscape / On the trail of the living” (see p 94). Through the works of artists and researchers who have tracked and investigated a territory, this exhibition seeks to bring out a sensitive and living dimension of the landscape that we have forgotten.

SHEET SOME SELECTED PAGES

Appointment

Images-site-web_01

MAP THE LIVING

Videos of the conferences

Previous issues

Billebaude n°10

SUR LA PISTE ANIMALE

PARU JUIN 2017

La façon dont les animaux vivent, le plus souvent cachés des hommes, est source de mystères. Ce numéro explore les différentes façons, venues des premiers chasseurs, de suivre la piste des animaux et de comprendre leurs modes d’existence. Aujourd’hui, le pistage prend une dimension scientifique, car il est devenu l’outil indispensable du suivi de la faune sauvage. Qui habite ici ? Comment fait-il territoire ? Quelles sont ses voies de circulation vitales, invisibles pour nous ? Alors que la plupart des humains au XXIe siècle se promènent dans une nature-paysage, où ils ne savent plus voir d’autres présences, suivre la piste de l’animal permet de lire le territoire autrement, de comprendre que l’on vit dans un habitat partagé avec d’autres vivants.

Ce numéro est conçu en partenariat avec l’Office national de la chasse et de la faune sauvage, spécialiste du suivi scientifique de la faune sauvage en France. Il accompagne l’exposition estivale du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature, « Animer le paysage, sur la piste des vivants », conçue comme un passage. Alors que notre imaginaire et nos représentations modernes nous positionnent, nous humains, à l’extérieur du paysage, les œuvres de l’exposition chercheront à nous plonger à l’intérieur, à représenter un territoire vivant, constitué de relations — riches et parfois conflictuelles —, entre humains et non-humains.

PARTAGER

Collection Billebaude

96 pages, 230 x 300 mm
Prix public TTC France :
19.90 €

Contact
Fondation François Sommer

Anne de Malleray
Directrice de collection
Tél : 01 53 01 92 40
a.demalleray@chassenature.org

Page Facebook Billebaude

TÉLÉCHARGER LE SOMMAIRE DU NUMÉRO

BILLEBAUDE-10

EDITO

Ce numéro invite à suivre la piste animale, activité qui remonte aux origines de l’humanité alors que de la chasse dépendait notre survie et que nous devions savoir comment cohabiter avec les animaux, lorsque nos territoires vitaux et nos ressources étaient partagés. Ces savoirs cynégétiques – lire la voie, les traces, décrypter les laissées -, ne sont pas qu’un patrimoine relevant du passé.

Ils servent aujourd’hui à comprendre où vivent les animaux, quels sont leurs territoires, comment leurs architectures invisibles, leurs habitats, s’imbriquent dans les nôtres ou disparaissent, faute de place. Les scientifiques de l’Office national de la faune sauvage, avec qui nous nous associons pour ce numéro, livrent ainsi des données précieuses sur les habitats de la faune sauvage. C’est en cela que le pistage peut-être un outil de cohabitation : connaître le territoire des animaux permet d’adapter nos façons de l’occuper pour leur faire de la place, de redessiner des cartes avec leur présence.

Le pistage permet de voir la nature autrement. Dans notre imaginaire moderne, le paysage et un beau panorama, une carte postale, un décor plaisant pour l’œil humain. Si la nature est un décor, c’est parce que nous ne savons pas la lire autrement. Pister permet de faire attention aux animaux, d’une façon qui, pour une fois, nous fait entrer dans leur monde, selon leurs règles et leur perspective. Que ferait-il ici ? En nous posant cette question pour ne pas perdre la piste, nous sommes en effet obligés de changer de perspective pour adopter la leur. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’être au fond des bois pour cela. Pister est une façon de faire attention aux présences animales partout où elles sont, y compris dans nos environnements domestiques et urbains. En pistant, nous redécouvrons que nous ne sommes pas seuls à habiter le monde. Selon les pisteurs que nous avons sollicités pour ce numéro, il y a une joie immense à sentir que l’on appartient à un monde plus large que celui des humains.

Ce numéro est le prolongement de l’exposition d’été du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature, « Animer le paysage / Sur la piste des vivants » (voir p 94). À travers des œuvres d’artistes et de chercheurs qui ont pisté et enquêté sur un territoire, cette exposition cherche à faire émerger une dimension sensible et vivante du paysage que nous avons oublié.

FEUILLETER QUELQUES PAGES CHOISIES

Rendez-vous

Vidéos des conférences

Numéro précédents